Audiobook Sync 2020: Week 1 Titles | Monday’s Not Coming + The 57 Bus (April 30 – May 6)

April 30, 2020 Bonnie Sync 1 Comment

Sync is back!! In case you’re new to the Audiobook Sync program, here are the details:

SYNC is a free summer audiobook program for teens 13+. Returning April 30th and continuing 13 weeks until July 29, SYNC gives participants two thematically paired audiobooks a week. Sign-up to get notifications each week when the FREE audiobooks are available. You can receive alerts by text message, email newsletter, or by visiting www.audiobooksync.com. Titles change every Thursday at 12am Eastern Time when the program is running. Each SYNC audiobook will be available to borrow into your SYNC library for a period of 7 days (only). Titles, once loaded into the app, are yours indefinitely.

The 57 Bus: A True Story of Two Teenagers and the Crime That Changed Their Lives by Dashka Slater | Read by Robin Miles
Published by Recorded Books | Download available here!

This riveting nonfiction book for teens about race, class, gender, crime, and punishment tells the true story of an agender teen who was set on fire by another teen while riding a bus in Oakland, California. One teenager in a skirt. One teenager with a lighter. One moment that changes both of their lives forever. If it weren’t for the 57 bus, Sasha and Richard never would have met. Both were high school students from Oakland, California, one of the most diverse cities in the country, but they inhabited different worlds. Sasha, a white teen, lived in the middle-class foothills and attended a small private school. Richard, a black teen, lived in the crime-plagued flatlands and attended a large public one. Each day, their paths overlapped for a mere eight minutes. But one afternoon on the bus ride home from school, a single reckless act left Sasha severely burned, and Richard charged with two hate crimes and facing life imprisonment. The case garnered international attention, thrusting both teenagers into the spotlight.

Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson | Read by Imani Parks
Published by HarperAudio | Download available here!

From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl’s disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth.

Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable—more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn’t turn up for the first day of school, Claudia’s worried.

When she doesn’t show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn’t just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year’s rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now Claudia needs her best—and only—friend more than ever. But Monday’s mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday’s sister April is even less help.

As Claudia digs deeper into her friend’s disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she’s gone?”

Happy listening!

Divider

One Response to “Audiobook Sync 2020: Week 1 Titles | Monday’s Not Coming + The 57 Bus (April 30 – May 6)”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge