Author: Karen Thompson Walker

Waiting on Wednesday – The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker

April 11, 2018 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday 5 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – The Dreamers by Karen Thompson WalkerThe Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker
Published by Random House on January 15, 2019
Pages: 320
Genres: Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Age of Miracles

A mesmerizing novel about a college town transformed by a strange illness that locks victims in a perpetual sleep and triggers life-altering dreams—by the bestselling author of The Age of Miracles, for fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven and Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go.

In an isolated college town in the hills of Southern California, a freshman girl stumbles into her dorm room, falls asleep—and doesn’t wake up. She sleeps through the morning, into the evening. Her roommate, Mei, cannot rouse her. Neither can the paramedics who carry her away, nor the perplexed doctors at the hospital. Then a second girl falls asleep, and then another, and panic takes hold of the college and spreads to the town. As the number of cases multiplies, classes are canceled, and stores begin to run out of supplies. A quarantine is established. The National Guard is summoned. Mei, an outsider in the cliquish hierarchy of dorm life, finds herself thrust together with an eccentric, idealistic classmate. Two visiting professors try to protect their newborn baby as the once-quiet streets descend into chaos. A father succumbs to the illness, leaving his daughters to fend for themselves. And at the hospital, a new life grows within a college girl, unbeknownst to her—even as she sleeps. A psychiatrist, summoned from Los Angeles, attempts to make sense of the illness as it spreads through the town. Those infected are displaying unusual levels of brain activity, more than has ever been recorded. They are dreaming heightened dreams—but of what? Written in gorgeous prose, The Dreamers is a breathtaking novel that startles and provokes, about the possibilities contained within a human life—in our waking days and, perhaps even more, in our dreams.

About Karen Thompson Walker

Karen Thompson Walker was born and raised in San Diego, California, where The Age of Miracles is set. She studied English and creative writing at UCLA, where she wrote for the UCLA Daily Bruin. After college, she worked as a newspaper reporter in the San Diego area before moving to New York City to attend the Columbia University MFA program.

A former book editor at Simon & Schuster, she wrote The Age of Miracles in the mornings before work—sometimes while riding the subway.

She is the recipient of the 2011 Sirenland Fellowship as well as a Bomb Magazine fiction prize. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband.

I apologize you guys, this doesn’t come out for ages (it’s not even on Amazon or Book Depository yet) but I’M SO EXCITED.

Image result for excited gif

Do you remember The Age of Miracles circa 2012? This is the long-awaited follow up! Sleeping disorders make me immediately think of Sleeping Beauties, however, this sounds even better.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

bonnie blog signature
Divider

Early Review – The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

March 19, 2012 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Read in 2012 4 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Review – The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson WalkerThe Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker
Published by Random House on June 26, 2012
Pages: 289
Genres: Coming-of-Age, Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | B&N | Book Depository
Goodreads


four-half-stars

“It still amazes me how little we really knew. . . . Maybe everything that happened to me and my family had nothing at all to do with the slowing. It’s possible, I guess. But I doubt it. I doubt it very much.”

On a seemingly ordinary Saturday in a California suburb, Julia and her family awake to discover, along with the rest of the world, that the rotation of the earth has suddenly begun to slow. The days and nights grow longer and longer, gravity is affected, the environment is thrown into disarray. Yet as she struggles to navigate an ever-shifting landscape, Julia is also coping with the normal disasters of everyday life—the fissures in her parents’ marriage, the loss of old friends, the hopeful anguish of first love, the bizarre behavior of her grandfather who, convinced of a government conspiracy, spends his days obsessively cataloging his possessions. As Julia adjusts to the new normal, the slowing inexorably continues.

“We have no way of knowing if this trend will continue. But we suspect it will continue.”
Our days had grown by fifty-six minutes in the night.

I had some difficulty getting into this story at first and I set it aside a number of times. Once I fell into the pattern of life right along with Julia I found myself enthralled and I couldn’t put it down. It took me 5 days to read the first 25% and 6 hours to read the final 75%.

This is essentially a written account told from the POV of an eleven-year-old girl, Julia, of when the Earth’s rotation began to slow. The slow build-up, in the beginning, was interesting I thought because it wasn’t truly suspenseful since it was told from the POV of someone so young, someone who really lacked the ability to comprehend what was happening.

‘I could tell he was hoping not to scare us, but that was the thing: We kids were not as afraid as we should have been. We were too young to be scared, too immersed in our own small worlds, too convinced of our own permanence.’

The commentary that alluded to a future that had yet to happen was eerie yet made you desperate to find out what happened to these people as a result of the phenomenon. Through Julia’s eyes, we watch her and the people in her life grow and adapt to the changing times. Slowly but surely more issues start occurring and life on Earth became anything but simple.

It’s hard to imagine a normal day lasting any longer than 24 hours but after that first night, the day extended beyond that: 24 hours and 56 minutes. That in and of itself was shocking but as each day passes more and more time is added on to the ‘normal day’. The innocence of Julia definitely tones down the seriousness of the situation but it’s still a scary and potentially realistic reality. This is one any apocalyptic fan shouldn’t miss.

Divider