Genre: Occult & Supernatural

Waiting on Wednesday – Ghoster by Jason Arnopp

July 10, 2019 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday 3 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – Ghoster by Jason ArnoppGhoster by Jason Arnopp
Published by Orbit on October 22, 2019
Pages: 400
Genres: Thriller, Occult & Supernatural
Format: Paperback
Amazon | Book Depository | Audible
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Last Days of Jack Sparks

From the author of The Last Days of Jack Sparks comes a chilling new thriller that will have you triple-locking your door at night . . .
Your front door key is not unique.

If a homicidal maniac walked from house to house for long enough, trying the same key in each front door, he might eventually open yours.

Six-year-old Emilee finds this out the hard way when a smiling stranger coolly unlocks her suburban front door. He walks in and brutally attacks her family, then seems to vanish into thin air.

Fourteen years later, the traumatic event haunts both Emilee and Gabriella, the homicide detective who handled the case. Together, they discover that similar home invasions have happened across America for decades. And when they launch a hunt for the 'key killer,' they start to wonder if unnatural forces could be at work...

Discover the jaw-dropping, chilling and thoroughly gripping new thriller from Jason Arnopp.

About Jason Arnopp

Jason Arnopp is the author of the upcoming chiller-thriller novel Ghoster, The Last Days Of Jack Sparks (Orbit Books) and the co-author of Inside Black Mirror with Charlie Brooker and Annabel Jones.

Arnopp wrote the Lionsgate horror feature film Stormhouse, the New Line Cinema novel Friday The 13th: Hate-Kill-Repeat, various official Doctor Who works of fiction (including the BBC audiobook Doctor Who: The Gemini Contagion) and script-edited the 2012 Peter Mullan film The Man Inside.

Arnopp has also written 2012's Beast In The Basement, a horror novella available at Amazon, and experimental ghost story A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home.

He is the author of non-fiction ebook How To Interview Doctor Who, Ozzy Osbourne And Everyone Else. He is on Twitter here, and is represented by literary agent Oli Munson at The AM Heath Agency. He is also represented for film and TV by Lawrence Mattis at Circle Of Confusion.

I really loved Arnopp’s The Last Days of Jack Sparks and I’ve been anxiously awaiting new stuff from him for ages! This one sounds GOOD. Can’t wait. ūüôā

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

bonnie blog signature
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday – The King of Crows (The Diviners #4) by Libba Bray

May 1, 2019 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday 3 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – The King of Crows (The Diviners #4) by Libba BrayThe King of Crows by Libba Bray
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on February 4, 2020
Pages: 336
Genres: Historical Fiction, Occult & Supernatural
Format: Hardcover
Amazon | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: Beauty Queens

The breath-taking finale to the epic New York Times bestseller, The Diviners, from Printz winner and beloved author, Libba Bray.

After the horrifying explosion that claimed one of their own, the Diviners find themselves wanted by the US government, and on the brink of war with the King of Crows.

While Memphis and Isaiah run for their lives from the mysterious Shadow Men, Isaiah receives a startling vision of a girl, Sarah Beth Olson, who could shift the balance in their struggle for peace. Sarah Beth says she knows how to stop the King of Crows-but, she will need the Diviners' help to do it.

Elsewhere, Jericho has returned after his escape from Jake Marlowe's estate, where he has learned the shocking truth behind the King of Crow's plans. Now, the Diviners must travel to Bountiful, Nebraska, in hopes of joining forces with Sarah Beth and to stop the King of Crows and his army of the dead forever.

But as rumors of towns becoming ghost towns and the dead developing unprecedented powers begin to surface, all hope seems to be lost.

In this sweeping finale, The Diviners will be forced to confront their greatest fears and learn to rely on one another if they hope to save the nation, and world from catastrophe...

About Libba Bray

Libba Bray is the New York Times bestselling author of The Gemma Doyle trilogy (A Great and Terrible Beauty, Rebel Angels, The Sweet Far Thing); the Michael L. Printz Award-winning Going Bovine; Beauty Queens, an L.A. Times Book Prize finalist; and The Diviners series. She is originally from Texas but makes her home in Brooklyn, NY, with her husband, son, and two sociopathic cats.

The series finale! Well, at least now I know how long I have to (finally) get around to reading Before the Devil Breaks You! February 2020 seems ages away but it really isn’t. Fingers crossed that January LaVoy for the audiobook narration.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

bonnie blog signature
Divider

Ominous October – The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson

October 22, 2015 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Ominous October, Read in 2015 0 Comments

Ominous October – The Amityville Horror by Jay AnsonThe Amityville Horror by Jay Anson
Published by Pocket Star on September 13th, 1977
Pages: 256
Genres: Demons, Horror, Occult & Supernatural
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads


three-stars




The shocking true story of an American dream that turned into a nightmare beyond imagining...

In December 1975, the Lutz family moved into their new home on suburban Long Island. George and Kathleen Lutz knew that one year earlier, Ronald DeFeo had murdered his parents, brothers, and sisters in the house, but the property - complete with boathouse and swimming pool - and the price had been too good to pass up. Twenty-eight days later, the entire Lutz family fled in terror...

This is the spellbinding, bestselling true story that gripped the nation - the story of a house possessed by spirits, haunted by psychic phenomena too terrible to describe.

The Amityville Horror is said to be a work of non-fiction as it is the story of¬†the Lutz family and the 28 days they spent in what was supposed to be their dream home. The house on¬†112 Ocean Avenue in Amityville, New York already had a bad name when¬†the DeFeo family was murdered there by the oldest son,¬†Ronald “Butch” DeFeo, Jr. in 1974. In his defense he claimed to have heard voices telling him to kill his family but he was instead diagnosed with¬†antisocial personality disorder and sentenced to¬†six consecutive life sentences. He remains in prison to this day. There was never anything mentioned about paranormal activity, just a horrifying mass murder. Whether the act of the murders is what caused the issues the Lutz’s experienced is entirely up for debate. When the Lutz’s moved into the house on Ocean Avenue in late 1975, their troubles began immediately. George Lutz constantly suffered from a chill and spent the majority of his time feeding the fire. Kathleen Lutz felt a presence in the kitchen which laid an innocuous hand on her shoulder only to feel that presence again later which squeezed the air out of her so much that she passed out. The two state that their emotions would often get the best of them for no apparent reason which led them both¬†beating their children which had never happened before. But that was only the first few days of their stay.

This is the second read for my scary book month of 2015 and I’m beginning to think the fear part of my brain is broken. Or maybe this just wasn’t that scary? Either way, this is always on the list of classic horror novels¬†and has always been one I’ve wanted to read. But the strange occurrences that happened in the house would have been more terrifying to have actually lived it, to have felt the wrongness of the house, and that’s simply something that couldn’t have been conveyed¬†through the page. The odd things that were actually visible (the strange, tiny red room or the weird ghosty pig) weren’t actually terrifying. Even the green goop that ran down the walls failed to horrify but what did horrify me was when George actually¬†stuck his finger in it and proceeded to taste it. Because that’s what normal people do. Taste random shit running down their walls. For fucks sake.

I did make the mistake of reading this in bed, in the middle of the night, only stopping at a part where a character woke in the middle of the night to find some ghosty child touching her foot trying to wake her up. Suffice it to say I felt little fingers touching my feet¬†all night. Other than freaking myself out by being a dumb dumb and reading it at night,¬†I didn’t find this terrifying. It would have helped, maybe, if Anson had¬†eased up on his use of the exclamation points whenever something ominous¬†happened in order to be taken more seriously. While I’m not completely sold on whether or not this is indeed factual, it was still an entertaining story that makes¬†you wonder about the history of your home and what could have possibly taken place within its walls.

Next up, I’ll be watching the classic movie. I just did this with Psycho (the Hitchcock version, not the one with Aragorn) and enjoyed the hell out of it. I may even have to watch the newer Amityville as well because 1. the trailer actually does look pretty damn terrifying and 2. other, various reasons. *shrugs*

Divider

Audiobook Review – Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy #2) by Deborah Harkness

September 6, 2014 Bonnie Adult, Audiobooks, Book Reviews, Read in 2014 1 Comment

Audiobook Review – Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy #2) by Deborah HarknessShadow of Night by Deborah Harkness
Narrator: Jennifer Ikeda
Series: All Souls Trilogy #2
Published by Penguin Audio on July 10th 2012
Genres: Fantasy, Occult & Supernatural
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Book of Life


two-half-stars




"Together we lifted our feet and stepped into the unknown"‚ÄĒthe thrilling sequel to the¬†New York Times¬†bestseller¬†A Discovery of Witches

Deborah Harkness exploded onto the literary scene with her debut novel, A Discovery of Witches, Book One of the magical All Souls Trilogy and an international publishing phenomenon. The novel introduced Diana Bishop, Oxford scholar and reluctant witch, and the handsome geneticist and vampire Matthew Clairmont; together they found themselves at the center of a supernatural battle over an enchanted manuscript known as Ashmole 782.

Now, picking up from A Discovery of Witches’ cliffhanger ending, Shadow of Night plunges Diana and Matthew into Elizabethan London, a world of spies, subterfuge, and a coterie of Matthew’s old friends, the mysterious School of Night that includes Christopher Marlowe and Walter Raleigh. Here, Diana must locate a witch to tutor her in magic, Matthew is forced to confront a past he thought he had put to rest, and the mystery of Ashmole 782 deepens.

Deborah Harkness has crafted a gripping journey through a world of alchemy, time travel, and magical discoveries, delivering one of the most hotly anticipated novels of the season.

All Souls Trilogy

11468955

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1) {Purchase}

Shadow of Night picks up immediately after A Discovery of Witches ends (and I do mean immediately with little to no refresher. This was my second attempt at reading and I attribute my success at completing it solely because of this recap I found online which was an immense help.) with Matthew and Diana traveling back into the past to search for Ashmole 782 and to seek Diana help with her powers. For those that don’t remember: Ashmole 782: the bewitched alchemical manuscript that Diana found in Oxford’s Bodleian library. After the local witches, daemons, and vampires begin targeting Diana in order to find out how an unskilled witch was able to obtain the manuscript that they believe contains important information about the creation and future of all supernatural creatures.

Considering the fact that I loved A Discovery of Witches I was beyond ecstatic when I snagged an ARC copy of Shadow of Night. Diving into it right away in hopes to devour it whole I realized immediately that that’s not how this was going to work. Positively rife with historical detail regarding the Elizabethan era and historical figures as well (Christopher Marlowe, Sir Walter Raleigh, John Dee, William Shakespeare and of course Queen Elizabeth I), this is one that will take some time to get through not just because of the amount of pages. The historical tidbits were interesting but I felt they lacked any sort of purpose and ultimately overpowered the true story making it much denser and longer than it should have been. The name dropping, while interesting, caused a bit of an eye-roll for me because did Matthew not have a single uncool friend that failed to make it into the history books? Apparently not. I can appreciate¬†the obvious extent of the research the author conducted but including every interesting person from the time period felt a little like ‘everything but the kitchen sink’ ¬†and should have been scaled back a little to focus more on Matthew and Diana.

Shadow of Night¬†definitely had a case of middle book syndrome. Add to that there’s a real non-ending that will likely cause some grumbles. There was¬†progress in the storyline but mostly things of little consequence. My favorite aspects¬†by far were the slight glimpses of the present day and how Matthew and Diana’s actions were inevitably changing the future. It was extremely interesting but those passages¬†were so few and far between that I kept¬†hoping for more. The evolution of Diana’s powers was the most¬†fascinating. Going back in time only resulted in throwing them into chaos and the slight control she did have over them dissipated but discovering the full extent of her powers was truly shocking.

Shadow of Night was definitely my least favorite of the trilogy so far but I’m looking forward to some resolution and seeing how everything turns out. I plan on picking up The Book of Life soon in case Harkness continues her non-recap trend.

Divider

Early Review – The Vanishing by Wendy Webb

January 16, 2014 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Read in 2013 10 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Review – The Vanishing by Wendy WebbThe Vanishing by Wendy Webb
Published by Hyperion on January 21, 2014
Pages: 304
Genres: Fiction, Ghost, Ghosties, Gothic, Occult & Supernatural
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon
Goodreads


two-half-stars




Recently widowed and rendered penniless by her Ponzi-scheming husband, Julia Bishop is eager to start anew. So when a stranger appears on her doorstep with a job offer, she finds herself accepting the mysterious yet unique position: caretaker to his mother, Amaris Sinclair, the famous and rather eccentric horror novelist whom Julia has always admired . . . and who the world believes is dead.

When she arrives at the Sinclairs' enormous estate on Lake Superior, Julia begins to suspect that there may be sinister undercurrents to her "too-good-to-be-true" position. As Julia delves into the reasons of why Amaris chose to abandon her successful writing career and withdraw from the public eye, her search leads to unsettling connections to her own family tree, making her wonder why she really was invited to Havenwood in the first place, and what monstrous secrets are still held prisoner within its walls.

Julia Bishop is left alone and completely destitute when her husband commits suicide after it was discovered he had swindled out all their family and friends out of their life savings with a Ponzi scheme. She’s accused of being a co-conspirator in her husband’s shady dealings and is left friendless as well. Unexpectedly a man arrives on her doorstep to offer her a job taking care of her mother, the well-known but presumed dead author Amaris Sinclair. Accepting this job would also allow her to vanish from her current life issues so she readily accepts not truly understanding why she is being trusted with this job.

‘The truth finds its way into the light, no matter what you’ve done to contain it.’

There is little to say about this novel for fear of giving away spoilers. The Vanishing lacks in complexity but makes up for it in riveting storytelling. It often requires a suspension of disbelief because of the incredulity of much that occurs within these pages.¬†For the better part of this novel, I found myself enthralled. A beautiful house in the middle of nowhere with a story all its own. A group of people with secrets. An unreliable narrator that puts everything into question. ¬†I love a good Gothic novel and I was well overdue. I greedily consumed the pages eager for the much anticipated twist that is a critical part of any Gothic novel. And that’s where I was left feeling cheated and completely dissatisfied. Simply put, my suspension of disbelief was pushed to excess and rationality intervened. As the author states at the end:

‘With my novels, I’m not trying to define a generation, right any great wrongs, or change the way you think about the world or your place init. I just want to craft a good story that will delight you, entertain you, grab you and not let go, and send some shivers up your spine along the way.’

The Vanishing did entertain me and there was the occasional shiver. Unfortunately, the ending was an unsatisfactory conclusion to an exiting tale that left me perplexed and discontented. As a whole, this was a very enjoyable novel and I can still honestly say that I’m glad to have read it.

Divider