Publisher: Pegasus Books

Waiting on Wednesday – Second Sight by Aoife Clifford

May 15, 2019 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday 3 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – Second Sight by Aoife CliffordSecond Sight by Aoife Clifford
Published by Pegasus Books on July 2, 2019
Pages: 272
Genres: Mystery
Format: Hardcover
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

When the biggest legal case of her career brings Eliza Carmody back to Kinsale, the hometown she thought she had left forever, she witnesses an old friend commit a crime that sends her on a dangerous quest to uncover the mysteries of her childhood that the rest of the town seems willing to ignore.

With her friend on the run and the police investigating the bones of an unidentified dead body at a historic homestead near town, Eliza becomes convinced that the truth lies in her memories of the New Year’s Eve years ago when her friend Grace disappeared from Kinsale forever.

While Eliza desperately explores the connections between the crimes of the present and those of the past, she begins to suspect that no one — even her own family — is telling the truth.  

About Aoife Clifford

Aoife Clifford is the author of Second Sight  and the best-selling novel All These Perfect Strangerswhich  was long listed for both the Australian Industry General Fiction Book of the Year and the Voss Literary Prize.

Born in London of Irish parents, she grew up in New South Wales, studied Arts/Law at the Australian National University, Canberra and now lives in Melbourne.

Aoife's short stories have been published in Australia, United Kingdom and the United States and has won two premier short story prizes for crime fiction in Australia - the Scarlet Stiletto (2007) and the S.D. Harvey Ned Kelly Award in 2012, among other prizes.  She has also been short listed for the UK Crime Association’s Debut Dagger. In 2014 she was awarded an Australian Society of Authors mentorship.

I discovered this one after Liberty Hardy did a post about this Australian crime novel and honestly, I need more mysteries that keep me guessing.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

bonnie blog signature
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday – Gravesend: A Novel by William Boyle

August 15, 2018 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday 4 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – Gravesend: A Novel by William BoyleGravesend by William Boyle
Published by Pegasus Books on September 4, 2018
Pages: 240
Genres: Southern Gothic/Country Noir
Format: Hardcover
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Some worship him and some want him dead, but either way, tensions run high when “Ray Boy” Calabrese is released from prison. It’s been sixteen years since Ray Boy’s actions led to the death of a young man. The victim's brother, Conway D'Innocenzio, is a 29-year-old Brooklynite wasting away at a local Rite Aid, stuck in the past and drawn into a darker side of himself when he hears of Ray Boy’s freedom. But even with the perfect plan in place, Conway can’t bring himself to take the ultimate revenge on Ray Boy, which sends him into a spiral of self-loathing and soul-searching.

Meanwhile, Alessandra, a failed actress, returns to her native Gravesend after the death of her cancer-stricken mother, torn between the desperate need to escape back to Los Angeles as quickly as possible and the ease with which she could sink back into neighborhood life. Alessandra and Conway are walking eerily similar paths—staring down the rest of their lives, caring for their aging fathers, lost in the youths they squandered—and each must decide what comes next.

In the tradition of American noir authors like Dennis Lehane and James Ellroy, William Boyle’s Gravesend brings the titular neighborhood to life in this story of revenge, desperation, and escape.

About William Boyle

William Boyle is from Brooklyn, New York. His debut novel, GRAVESEND, was published as #1,000 in the Rivages/Noir collection in France, where it was shortlisted for the Prix Polar SNCF 2017 and nominated for the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière. Boyle is also the author of a book of short stories, DEATH DON'T HAVE NO MERCY, and of another novel, EVERYTHING IS BROKEN, published only in France. His newest novel, THE LONELY WITNESS, is out now from Pegasus Crime. GRAVESEND will be reissued, also by Pegasus Crime, in September 2018. He lives in Oxford, Mississippi.

I added this one to my Wishlist when it was first released by a smaller publisher after seeing all the rave reviews about it. It’s now being re-released by Pegasus Books this September and I’m excited to get my hands on it!

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

bonnie blog signature
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday – The Storms of War: A Novel by Kate Williams

September 2, 2015 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday 4 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – The Storms of War: A Novel by Kate WilliamsThe Storms of War: A Novel by Kate Williams
Published by Pegasus Books on September 15th 2015
Pages: 528
Genres: Historical Fiction, WWI
Format: Hardcover
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

For fans of Atonement, Birdsong, and Downton Abbey, the first of three novels about a privileged British family enduring the trials of World War I, from New York Times bestselling author Kate Williams.

In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter Emmeline, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris, and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world.

But the onslaught of war changes everything and soon the de Witts find themselves sidelined and in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only herself but those she loves in danger.

With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.

About Kate Williams

Kate studied her BA at Somerville College, Oxford where she was a College Scholar and received the Violet Vaughan
Morgan University Scholarship. She then took her MA at Queen Mary, University of London and her DPhil at Oxford, where she received a graduate prize. She also took an MA in Creative Writing at Royal Holloway.

This first caught my eye when it was being published in the UK only so I was happy to stumble upon release information for the US! Anything Downton related I’m a total sucker for but add in my love of Atonement and I’m all over this.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Leave me a link to your post and I’ll be sure to stop by!

dvd-pearl

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine

Divider

Book Review – The Philosopher and the Wolf: Lessons from the Wild on Love, Death, and Happiness by Mark Rowlands

July 19, 2011 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2011 1 Comment

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review – The Philosopher and the Wolf: Lessons from the Wild on Love, Death, and Happiness by Mark RowlandsThe Philosopher and the Wolf: Lessons in Love, Death, and Happiness by Mark Rowlands
Published by Pegasus Books on June 14, 2011
Pages: 268
Genres: Memoir, Non-Fiction, Philosophy
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon
Goodreads


four-half-stars




This fascinating book charts the relationship between Mark Rowlands, a rootless philosopher, and Brenin, his well-traveled wolf. After acquiring Brenin as a cub, it quickly became apparent that Breinin was never to be left alone, as the consequences to Mark's house and its contents were dire. As a result, Brenin and Mark went everywhere together-from classroom lecture to Ireland, England, and France. More than just an exotic pet, Brenin exerted an immense influence on Rowlands as both a person, and, strangely enough, as a philosopher, leading him to re-evaluate his attitude to love, happiness, nature and death. By turns funny (what do you do when your wolf eats your air-conditioning unit?) and poignant, this life-affirming book will make you reappraise what it means to be human.

This book is part memoir, part story of the 11 years spent with his wolf named Brenin and the impression that he made on his life, and part philosophical interpretation of what it means to be human. I can’t claim to be a true lover of Philosophy; however, this book and the author’s writing style kept me engaged. The novels main emphasis tends to focus on the differences between men and wolves from a philosophical stand point. Not only his personal philosophical views but also various different philosophers’ and how their opinions and views apply to certain situations.

The book does not consistently tell the story of his life with Brenin, rather there are bits and pieces interspersed throughout the book with philosophical concepts in between. I would have liked to see more time spent on the connection between him and Brenin because their relationship was pretty amazing.

“But when I remember Brenin, I remember also that what is most important is the you that remains when your calculations fail – when the schemes you have schemed shudder to a halt, and the lies you have lied stick in your throat. In the end, it’s all luck – all of it – and the gods can take away your luck as quickly as they confer it. What is most important is the person you are when your luck runs out.”

The novel was very intellectually stimulating; I just wish I had more knowledge of philosophy in order for me to be able to truly appreciate it. Insightful, nonetheless, and I did enjoy the experience.

Divider