Top Ten Tuesday – Highly Anticipated 2017 Debuts

January 3, 2017 Bonnie Top Ten Tuesday 19 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra – Expected publication: January 3rd 2017 by Razorbill Canada
Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden – Expected publication: January 10th 2017 by Del Rey
A young woman’s family is threatened by forces both real and fantastical in this debut novel inspired by Russian fairy tales.

All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai – Expected publication: February 7th 2017 by Dutton Books
All Our Wrong Todays is about the versions of ourselves that we shed and grow into over time. It is a story of friendship and family, of unexpected journeys and alternate paths, and of love in its multitude of forms. Filled with humor and heart and saturated with insight and intelligence and a mind-bending talent for invention, this novel signals the arrival of a major talent.

The Possessions by Sara Flannery Murphy – Expected publication: February 7th 2017 by Harper
In this electrifying literary debut, a young woman who channels the dead for a living crosses a dangerous line when she falls in love with one of her clients, whose wife died under mysterious circumstances

The Book of Mirrors by E.O. Chirovici – Expected publication: February 21st 2017 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books
An elegant, page-turning thriller in the vein of Night Film and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, this tautly crafted novel is about stories: the ones we tell, the ones we keep hidden, and the ones that we’ll do anything to ensure they stay buried.

Sorry to Disrupt the Peace by Patty Yumi Cottrell – Expected publication: March 14th 2017 by McSweeney’s
A bleakly comic tour de force that’s by turns poignant, uproariously funny, and viscerally unsettling, this debut novel has shades of Bernhard, Beckett and Bowles–and it announces the singular voice of Patty Yumi Cottrell

American War by Omar El Akkad – Expected publication: April 4th 2017 by Knopf Publishing Group
An audacious and powerful debut novel: a second American Civil War, a devastating plague, and one family caught deep in the middle—a story that asks what might happen if America were to turn its most devastating policies and deadly weapons upon itself.

You Were Here by Gian Sardar – Expected publication: May 16th 2017 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Readers of Kate Atkinson will delight in this suspenseful and romantic debut novel about a woman haunted by nightmares and her grandmother’s role in a doomed love triangle almost seventy years before

The Last Place You Look by Kristen Lepionka – Expected publication: June 13th 2017 by Minotaur Books
Kinsey Millhone meets Serial, The Last Place You Look is a head-on collision between an allegedly closed case and a tenacious, troubled private investigator who doesn’t know when to quit.

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt – Expected publication: August 1st 2017 by Atlantic Monthly Press
Sarah Schmidt’s debut is a masterful reimagining of the infamous Lizzie Borden story and an unsettling portrait of a troubled family

Divider

19 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Highly Anticipated 2017 Debuts”

  1. Heidi

    You have so many on here that I haven’t heard of. I still feel out of the loop when it comes to the new releases. The only one I have on my radar is Bear and the Nightingale I will be watching for your reviews on some of these!

    Reply
  2. Jessie

    Dude… the bird on See What I Have Done looks piiiiissssssed. That is not a happy little avian, lol.

    There are some very interesting books on this! I honestly had no heard of most of them but will now be watching for reviews and thoughts on them, (especially American War — what an intriguing premise!).
    Jessie recently posted…Top Ten 2016 Book CoversMy Profile

    Reply

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge