Top Ten Tuesday – If You Like To Watch This, Read This

April 17, 2018 Bonnie Top Ten Tuesday 11 Comments

Whenever I watch something awesome, my brain always jumps to bookish comparisons. Pairing up movies/shows with books is quite possibly my favorite thing. These are the latest comparisons I’ve made:

If you’re a fan of The 100, you should read the short story We have Always Lived on Mars. (It’s also being made into a movie!)
If you’re a fan of Black Mirror, The Possessions make a most fitting episode.

If you’re a fan of American Horror Story: Murder House, House of Leaves involves an equally terrifying house.
If you loved the foreboding time-travel show Dark, The Shining Girls‘ dark, time travel story will also entice.

If getting into the minds of serial killers like in Mindhunter is your thing, Green River Killer is another look inside the mind of a dark individual.

If the silence unsettled you in A Quiet Place, the sightless in Bird Box will no doubt as well.

If witnessing the effects of a murder on a small-town was affecting, Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone is a comparative tale.
If Atomic Blonde made you realize you need more badass lady assassins in your life, Dominika Egorova will do the trick in Red Sparrow.

If you loved Rey in Star Wars: The Last Jedi, you’ll be missing out if you don’t read about Sirantha Jax in Grimspace.

If the history of Dunkirk made you want to learn more about WWII, Salt to the Sea gives another facet to this era.

Divider

11 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – If You Like To Watch This, Read This”

  1. Barb (boxermommyreads)

    What a great post. I love when everyone gets to choose their own topics. I have the first in the Grimspace series and probably should dig it out. I need to start reading from my shelves more. Of course, I have at least started using the library more so that’s good. I’ve heard someone else say The Possessions (which I also own) reminded them of Black Mirror.
    Barb (boxermommyreads) recently posted…TTT – Ten Prince Books On My TBRMy Profile

    Reply
  2. Greg

    Awesome list! I love The 100 so I will definitely check that other book out. And same with Dark- I just finished that on Netflix and loved it, so I will be looking at Shining Girls for sure.
    Greg recently posted…Top Ten freebie Book QuotesMy Profile

    Reply
  3. Shayna

    I love these types of recommendation posts. I’m a huge fan of The 100, so I will hopefully get a chance to check out We Have Always Lived on Mars. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge