Top Ten Tuesday – Read This (Adult) Novel If You Like This (YA) Novel

Posted September 29, 2015 by Bonnie in Top Ten Tuesday / 10 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I don’t read just YA novels. I don’t read just Adult novels. There are aspects to love about both. Here are my ten recommendations that YA fans should read based on their favorites. Or vice versa, of course, if you’re looking for new YA recommendations based on your Adult favorites.

 photo shutter - dark house.jpg

Shutter (Shutter #1) by Courtney Alameda [Purchase|Review]

down arrowDarkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1) by Karina Halle [Purchase]

Being a huge fan of horror stories and ghost stories in particular, it’s no surprise I loved both of these. Darkhouse amps up the terror and has a romance that you can’t help but love.

WAVYLINE

 photo anna - heart shaped.jpg

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna #1) by Kendare Blake [Purchase|Review]

down arrowHeart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill [Purchase]

I did say I loved ghost stories, so here are two more recommendations. Anna Dressed in Blood is my favorite YA horror and Heart-Shaped Box is my favorite Adult horror. Box also remains one of the scariest things I’ve ever read, so keep that in mind if you pick up this tale of terror.

WAVYLINE

 photo croak - charley.jpg

Croak (Croak #1) by Gina Damico [Purchase|Review]

down arrowFirst Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson #1) by Darynda Jones [Purchase|Review]

Lex and Charley are both Grim Reapers. They both have a hilarious sense of humor. If you loved Lex, I have no doubt you’d love Charley.

WAVYLINE

 photo vampire academy - chicagoland.jpg

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) by Richelle Mead [Purchase]

down arrowSome Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires #1) by Chloe Neill [Purchase|Review]

I grew up on Vampire Academy and no vampire series has quite filled that hole like the Chicagoland Vampire series for me. Merit is totally a grown-up Rose and don’t worry, there’s a Dimitri-like romance too. The first installment was a bit rocky but it gets infinitely better if you give it a chance.

WAVYLINE

 photo warm bodies - married.jpg

Warm Bodies (Warm Bodies #1) by Isaac Marion [Purchase|Review]

down arrowMarried with Zombies (Living With the Dead #1) by Jesse Petersen [Purchase|Review]

If you likes your zombies with a side of romance, Married with Zombies should be on your list. There isn’t actual zombie romance, but it’s equally hilarious and with more actual zombie hunting too in case you like that sort of thing.

WAVYLINE

 photo ashfall - miracles.jpg

Ashfall (Ashfall #1) by Mike Mullin [Purchase|Review]

down arrowThe Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker [Purchase|Review]

Both Ashfall and The Age of Miracles deal with post-apocalyptic situations (supervolcano vs. earth rotation slows) that are all too realistic and plausible. I love reading these types of stories not only to see how humanity reacts to these types of situations but to pick up tips on how to survive.

WAVYLINE

 photo shades - shadows.jpg

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys [Purchase]

down arrowShadows Over Paradise by Isabel Wolff [Purchase|Review]

The stories of children being interned in concentration camps are always some of the hardest stories to read, but both Sepetys and Wolff do fantastic jobs of telling their heartbreaking stories. Recommended if Between Shades of Gray and WWII stories in general interest you.

WAVYLINE

 photo gilt - boleyn.jpg

Gilt (Royal Circle) by Katherine Longshore [Purchase|Review]

down arrowThe Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory [Purchase]

While neither are technically historically accurate, these are still incredibly entertaining stories for fans of the Tudor era. The Boleyn Inheritance is technically the third in Gregory’s Tudor series, however, this story in particular has the most in common with Gilt’s storyline. I recommend them all.

WAVYLINE

 photo all the rage - dare me.jpg

All the Rage by Courtney Summers [Purchase|Review]

down arrowDare Me by Megan Abbott [Purchase|Review]

All the Rage is a powerful depiction of rape culture and subsequent victim blaming and while Dare Me has a different storyline, both touch on stereotypes and just how mean girls (and people in general) can be to one another.

WAVYLINE

 photo fault - me before you_1.jpg

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green [Purchase|Review]

down arrowMe Before You (Me Before You #1) by Jojo Moyes [Purchase|Review]

 These two are both heartbreaking romances that focus on the struggles that we’re forced to deal with in life. Be prepared with tissues when you crack open either of these.

Tags:

Divider

10 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Read This (Adult) Novel If You Like This (YA) Novel

  1. Meleika

    Keen to read some girls bite ! Also I’ve had Me before You for a while, so I think I’ll definitely read it soon 🙂 Great List !
    here’s my list
    Meleika recently posted…Top Ten TuesdayMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.