Waiting on Wednesday – Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

December 21, 2016 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday 8 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah HenstraMad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra
Published by Razorbill Canada on January 3rd 2017
Pages: 272
Genres: Historical Fiction
Format: Paperback
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people's voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her "Mad Miss Mimic" behind her back... and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo...but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations - but to do so, she must first find her voice.

About Sarah Henstra

Sarah Henstra is the author of Mad Miss Mimic (Razorbill, 2015), an historical novel for young adults. She is a professor of English literature at Ryerson University, where she teaches courses in Gothic Horror, Fairy Tales & Fantasies, Psychoanalysis & Literature, and Creative Writing. She grew up on the wild, wet coast of British Columbia, but now she lives in Toronto, Ontario with her two sons.

border24

The comparisons to Austen, Doyle, Sepetys, and Wein seem a little all over the place but this summary sounds like a fantastic gothic historical fiction. It’s been too long since I’ve picked up something in that vein.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

border24

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine

bonnie blog signature

Divider

8 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday – Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra”

  1. Jessie

    I have to admit this was on my TBR purely for title and cover reasons. But I am deeefinitely intrigued by it now that I see Elizabeth Wein comparisons. I can also def see the Jane Austen vibes from the synopsis but I am here for it. — this Mr. Thornfax has Dracy allllll over him lol.

    Here’s hoping that this one ends up on NG or edelweiss to request!
    Jessie recently posted…Two Minute Review: By Your Side by Kasie WestMy Profile

    Reply

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge