August 2012 – Review Copy Cleanup Results

Posted September 1, 2012 by Bonnie in Reading Challenges / 0 Comments

BBT
Another Review Copy Challenge is over… so how did I do? Honestly I aimed REALLY high as a goal (12 review copies) and was only actually able to complete half although that does count 4 that I read partially and ended up giving up. August was a fairly hard month personally for me so my mind has been quite distracted. Still didn’t do as bad as I had thought. 🙂 These were the books that I picked:
Here’s my individual book wrap-up!
1) 12.21: A Novel by Dustin Thomason (Expected publication: August 21st 2012)
I loved, loved, loved this book. Exciting, incredibly interesting… a real page turner. I would actually go so far as to consider this one of my favorite reads of 2012! So far at least. The year isn’t over after all. 🙂 Read my review here!
2) Every Day by David Levithan (Expected publication: August 28th 2012)
This is my second read by David Levithan (first being The Lover’s Dictionary which was amazing) so I was really anticipating this one. Highly original storyline but one that I didn’t love as much as I had hoped. Read my review here!
3) Speechless by Hannah Harrington (Expected publication: August 28th 2012)
This one was my first Hannah Harrington read even though almost every single one of my GR friends read Saving June I happened to skip over it. I wasn’t blown away by Speechless but it was nonetheless an enjoyable read. Read my review here!
4) The Mirrored World by Debra Dean (Expected publication: August 28th 2012)
I found myself interested in this because I had never heard of St. Xenia of St. Petersburg, and decided to give it a chance. Interesting story but written in a horribly dry manner. Read my review here!
Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan (Expected publication: September 11th 2012)
I’m not sure what happened with this one. I remember requesting this one from Netgalley and being so super excited for it but it sat waiting for me to finally get around to it. So when I go to pick it back up for this challenge and I read the summary snippet I got super confused because… this isn’t the book I requested is it? This sounds like crap. lol Suffice it to say I gave it a few chapters and couldn’t get into it and bailed. Oh well, it happens.
Those We Love Most by Lee Woodruff (Expected publication: September 11th 2012)
So, this is one that showed up in my mailbox so I decided to give it a chance. And this was totally not the book for me. I wrote a small snippet regarding why I bailed here.
5) The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (Expected publication: September 18th 2012)
Okay, this was pretty awesome. I would have liked more answers even though I know this is a series and all cannot be revealed or what’s the fun in that? I’m still in the middle of completing this review. I’m giving away my signed ARC of this book though here!
6) Never Seduce a Scot by Maya Banks (Expected publication: September 25th 2012)
This was a charming historical romance novel. I can’t wait for the next in this series! My first Maya Banks novel but certainly not my last. Review still pending. 🙂
Under Wildwood by Colin Meloy (Expected publication: September 25th 2012)
Eek… I never got around to this one. I can’t help that this book is seriously massive and I really didn’t enjoy the first installment. I’ll get around to this but I’m not sure when.
The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke (Expected publication: October 2nd 2012)
This is one that I failed to get into and bailed early on. Loved by many, but… not I.
Mystic City by Theo Lawrence (Expected publication: October 9th 2012)
I read approximately 1/3 of this book and ended up giving up. To me this was your typical YA with the insta-love and love triangles to boot. No thanks. I have far more entertaining books to spend my time with.
The Stockholm Octavo by Karen Engelman (Expected publication: October 23rd 2012)
*sigh* Another that I failed to get around to. Fortunately, the publication date is still a ways out so I have time to get in an early review. 🙂

So how did you do on your Review Copy Cleanup Challenge? Leave me a link to your wrap up post!

Tags:

Divider

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.