Author: Barry Lyga

Book Review – Blood of My Blood (Jasper Dent #3) by Barry Lyga

July 11, 2015 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2015, YA 2 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review – Blood of My Blood (Jasper Dent #3) by Barry LygaBlood of My Blood by Barry Lyga
Series: Jasper Dent #3
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on September 9th 2014
Pages: 480
Genres: Horror, Mystery
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: I Hunt Killers, Game

four-stars

The game is over in this heart-pounding finale to the I Hunt Killers trilogy

Jazz Dent has been shot and left to die in New York City. His girlfriend Connie is in the clutches of Jazz's serial killer father, Billy. And his best friend Howie is bleeding to death on the floor of Jazz's own home in tiny Lobo's Nod. Somehow, these three must rise above the horrors their lives have become and find a way to come together in pursuit of Billy. But then Jazz crosses a line he's never crossed before, and soon the entire country is wondering: "Like father, like son?" Who is the true monster?

The chase is on, and beyond Billy there lurks something much, much worse. Prepare to meet...the Crow King.

Jasper Dent series

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga {Review}
Game (Jasper Dent #2) by Barry Lyga {Review}

‘What’s it like to go looking for your soul, only to learn you never had one to begin with?’

Blood of My Blood is the epic conclusion to the story of Jasper Dent. Picking up from the cliffhangers of Game, Connie has stumbled into the clutches of Billy Dent himself, Howie is in the hospital, and Jasper is grasping at straws trying to figure out how he’s going to save his mother after being shot. Jasper has also fought with knowing who his father is and knowing that his blood runs through his veins. He becomes resigned to the fact that he’s the only one that’s going to be able to truly stop his father and the realization that he must become him to do just that is distressing to watch unfold.

Wow. Talk about sick and twisted revelations. We’ve known from the beginning that Jasper’s a tad bit twisted, but that’s to be expected being the son of a serial killer. But Lyga reeeeaaalllly took the ferocity and perverseness to the next level. While I’ve heard that a lot of people saw the twist coming, I was pleased that the big shocker managed to evade me and when the big reveal happened… whoa.

I read this installment immediately after Game which definitely helped seeing as there is very little to no recapping. In comparison to Game, which took me over 2 weeks to finish, Blood is infinitely more thrilling and I practically swallowed this story whole in under 24 hours. My main issue with most trilogy/series reads is when conclusions lack any sort of final gratification. I’m happy to say that Lyga’s end to Jazz’s story is fulfilling but matches the tone of the whole trilogy without treading into “happily ever after” territory.

Blood of My Blood is a very fast paced wallop of a story and is a most satisfying end to this dark trilogy.

Divider

Book Review – Game (Jasper Dent #2) by Barry Lyga

July 10, 2015 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2015, YA 3 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review – Game (Jasper Dent #2) by Barry LygaGame by Barry Lyga
Series: Jasper Dent #2
on April 16th 2013
Pages: 520
Genres: Horror, Mystery
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: I Hunt Killers, Blood of My Blood

three-half-stars

The sequel to the critically acclaimed I HUNT KILLERS takes both the stakes and body count higher.

Billy grinned. "Oh, New York," he whispered. "We're gonna have so much fun."

I Hunt Killers introduced the world to Jazz, the son of history's most infamous serial killer, Billy Dent.

In an effort to prove murder didn't run in the family, Jazz teamed with the police in the small town of Lobo's Nod to solve a deadly case. And now, when a determined New York City detective comes knocking on Jazz's door asking for help, he can't say no. The Hat-Dog Killer has the Big Apple--and its police force--running scared. So Jazz and his girlfriend, Connie, hop on a plane to the big city and get swept up in a killer's murderous game.

Both the stakes and the body count are higher in this suspenseful and unstoppable sequel from acclaimed author Barry Lyga.

Jasper Dent series

Book Tour Review – I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga [Review]

I Hunt Killers introduced us to Jasper Dent, son of Billy Dent who is well known for being a notorious serial killer. Attempting to prove that he’s nothing like his father, he decides to track an apparent serial killer in his hometown. His success in bringing down the killer is noticed and in this second installment, Jasper is asked by the NYPD to come to New York City to help them catch another serial killer. Unsure of himself, but wanting to do what he can to help, Jazz goes to New York and finds himself smack dab in the middle of a game that he never wanted to play.

The thing that worked for I Hunt Killers was absent in Game. In Killers, Jazz took it upon himself to hunt for the serial killer and while not completely realistic was still somewhat credible. In Game, the NYPD has requested his presence in solving a murder because they’ve been unable to stop the guy and the murders continue to pile up.

Come on, really? The NYPD. Asked a teenager. The son of a serial killer. Sure, he may have brought down a serial killer in his hometown, once, but that doesn’t make him some seasoned veteran. Highly unlikely in the full scheme of things and my ability to suspend disbelief could only go so far.

Jazz, Connie, and Howie all find themselves on different paths in this book and subsequently all have their own cliffhanger to boot. I much preferred the gang all together, especially because Connie and Howie’s POVs both managed to grate on my nerves. Connie made some of the most idiotic decisions ever. You knew that something bad was going to happen to her because if it didn’t it would have been completely shocking. Her complete inability to think rationally was a complete contradiction from how she was in the first book so I’m hoping she finds her brain in time for the third book. Howie was the same old Howie but his charming immaturity didn’t win me over as it did in the past mostly because his constant sexual innuendos were straight up cringe-inducing. I realize his importance in a gory tale such as this, comic relief, but I would have appreciated a bit more maturity to go with the seriousness of the situation the characters were going through.

I Hunt Killers was a fabulous thriller with a Dexter-like teenager that you couldn’t help but love. I read the first installment back when it first came out, April 2012, and was desperate to get my hands on the next installment. Clearly, as you might notice, I’ve finally read it and it’s July 2015. Yeah, I’m more than a bit late. When early reviews came out, the groaning and moaning about the cliffhangers left me leery so I quickly decided that I’d just rather binge read both final installments when the third book came out. And I’m finally doing just that. I picked up the third book, Blood of My Blood, right away because you can’t not do just that after the ending(s) Lyga gives us. So word of advice? Definitely, have the next book ready to go.

Divider

Recommend A… Book You Read On a Vacation

September 10, 2012 Bonnie Recommend A... 0 Comments

Recommend A… Book You Read On a VacationI Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga
Series: Jasper Dent #1
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on April 3, 2012
Pages: 368
Genres: Horror, Mystery, Thriller
Format: Hardcover
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: I Hunt Killers, Game, Blood of My Blood

What if the world's worst serial killer...was your dad?

Jasper "Jazz" Dent is a likable teenager. A charmer, one might say.

But he's also the son of the world's most infamous serial killer, and for Dear Old Dad, Take Your Son to Work Day was year-round. Jazz has witnessed crime scenes the way cops wish they could—from the criminal's point of view.

And now bodies are piling up in Lobo's Nod.

In an effort to clear his name, Jazz joins the police in a hunt for a new serial killer. But Jazz has a secret—could he be more like his father than anyone knows?

Recommend A… is a new meme hosted by Chick Loves Lit. Every Monday is a new topic which allows participants to recommend a favorite book of theirs.
This week’s topic?

Recommend A…Book You Read On a Vacation

It took me FOREVER to get through this on my last vacation, despite how truly awesome this book is. My excuse is I just got engaged and I was totally in the mood for romance and not serial killers. 🙂 This was still one seriously awesome book though and I can’t wait for the next installment.
Read my review of this book here!
Divider

Book Tour Review – I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga

April 13, 2012 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2012, YA 2 Comments

Book Tour Review – I Hunt Killers by Barry LygaI Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga
Series: Jasper Dent #1
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on April 3rd 2012
Pages: 368
Genres: Horror, Mystery
Format: ARC
Source: Book Tour
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Game, Blood of My Blood

four-half-stars

It was a beautiful day. It was a beautiful field.
Except for the body.

Jazz is a likable teenager. A charmer, some might say.

But he's also the son of the world's most infamous serial killer, and for Dear Old Dad, "Take Your Son to Work Day" was year-round. Jazz has witnessed crime scenes the way cops wish they could--from the criminals' point of view.

And now, even though Dad has been in jail for years, bodies are piling up in the sleepy town of Lobo's Nod. Again.

In an effort to prove murder doesn't run in the family, Jazz joins the police in the hunt for this new serial killer. But Jazz has a secret--could he be more like his father than anyone knows?

From acclaimed author Barry Lyga comes a riveting thriller about a teenager trying to control his own destiny in the face of overwhelming odds.

‘Jazz was afraid of two things in the world, and two things only.
One of them was that people thought that his upbringing meant that he was cursed by nature, nurture, and predestination to be a serial killer like his father.
The second thing…was that they were right. ‘

When a woman is found murdered in Lobo’s Nod, the last thing on anyone’s mind is that it could potentially be another serial killer because they’ve already dealt with one in their lifetime. Billy Dent was a local of Lobo’s Nod, who murdered into the triple digits, is behind bars but his son Jazz still lives in town with his Grandma. Having grown up with Billy and being taught everything he knew it was inevitable that Jazz would be far from a normal kid.

‘Jazz hadn’t given her many details of exactly what life in the Dent house had been like, but he’d told her enough that she knew it wasn’t hearts and flowers. Well, except for the occasional heart cut from a chest. And the kind of flowers you send to funerals.’

Since his father went to prison, Jazz has struggled with nightmares, memories, and the fear that he’s going to end up exactly like Dear Old Dad. When the woman is found murdered, Jazz feels that it really is another serial killer and he decides to use his knowledge to help find him since he knows exactly how the mind of a serial killer works.

Maybe it’s because I’m a big fan of mysteries/thrillers/true crime but this was a lot of fun. The subtle humor that Mr. Lyga managed to swirl into the mix was perfection and managed to really take the edge off the more gory bits. This was definitely raw and gruesome though, but it was extremely well done. The YA classification in this case definitely applies to the older YA crowd. I was really shocked at how detailed some of the crime scenes were described and a few of Jazz’s nightmares (which include cutting of human flesh and his fears that these aren’t nightmares at all). I’d only recommend this to fans of the genre that are able to stomach some pretty detailed descriptions.

I Hunt Killers definitely ends with the possibility for more but can work as a stand-alone novel as well. And apparently we actually can look forward to more as this is a planned trilogy.

Much thanks to Wendy Darling at The Midnight Garden for allowing me to be a part of her blog tour!

Divider