Author: Corey Taylor

Early Review – You’re Making Me Hate You: A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense Left by Corey Taylor

June 26, 2015 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Read in 2015 0 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Review – You’re Making Me Hate You: A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense Left by Corey TaylorYou're Making Me Hate You: A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense Left by Corey Taylor
Published by Da Capo Press on July 7th 2015
Pages: 256
Genres: Funny-ha-ha, Non-Fiction
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: Seven Deadly Sins: Settling the Argument Between Born Bad and Damaged Good, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven, House of Gold & Bones

four-stars

In the tradition of the late great George Carlin, New York Times bestselling author and lead singer of Slipknot and Stone Sour Corey Taylor sounds off in hilarious fashion about the many vagaries of modern life that piss him off.

Whether it’s people’s rude behavior in restaurants and malls, the many indignities of air travel, eye-searingly terrible fashion choices, dangerously clueless drivers, and—most of all—the sorry state of much modern music, Taylor’s humor and insight cover civil society’s seeming decline—sparing no one along the way, least of all himself.

Holding nothing back and delivered in Taylor’s inimitable voice, You’re Making Me Hate You is a cathartic critique of the strange world in which we find ourselves.

“…can’t people just not fucking suck as human beings once in a while? […] People have just as much capacity to be good as they do to be shit. It’s a choice. People make choices. So they need to make better fucking choices.”

Being that this is Corey Taylor’s third book you think I’d be used to his absolutely impeccable way of putting into words all the bitching and complaining that runs through my head, but I am. Like all the times when I’m confronted with the idiocy of this planet be it by their ridiculous purchases, their laughable choice in music or they way they choose to raise (or not raise as the case may be) their children. We’re all confronted with the insanity on a daily basis but we’re forced to suffer through, internally rolling our eyes at the imbeciles. But Corey manages to transform the suffering into entertainment in the form of a hilarious memoir once again.

“Incompetent people don’t know they’re incompetent. They just blithely blunder through their day-to-day with no care for any damage that happens in their wakes. When the mishaps are pointed out, they see the issue but don’t do anything to adjust and fix their ways.”

You know those people you encounter that seem as if they were put on Earth just to make your life miserable? Or how about those times you witness some type of human behavior that causes you to simultaneously stop to worry for the human race while also thinking “What in the fuck is wrong with people!?” If you’ve had thoughts such as those, this is the book for you. If not, back away slowly. Not one to mince words, Corey Taylor points out all the issues in society and human behavior in general without a care for hurt feelings. He’s blunt, honest, and always candid. You gotta love that about him.

“When people suffer under the illusion that their time and attention is more important than everyone else’s, no matter how mundane the occasion may be, I snap like a piece of dried-up driftwood, waiting to be set fire at the pyre.”

Corey Taylor has successfully covered the argument between good and evil, the existence of the supernatural and now the lack of common sense of the human race. I can’t wait to see what he comes up with next.

Divider

Graphic Novel Review – House of Gold & Bones by Corey Taylor

December 7, 2013 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Graphic Novel, Read in 2013 2 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Graphic Novel Review – House of Gold & Bones by Corey TaylorHouse of Gold & Bones by Corey Taylor
Published by Dark Horse on December 10th 2013
Pages: 104
Genres: Fantasy, Horror
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: Seven Deadly Sins: Settling the Argument Between Born Bad and Damaged Good, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven, You're Making Me Hate You: A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense Left

three-stars

In a nightmarish world, the Human finds himself at a crossroads as wild adventure ensues and he's thrust into a morphing landscape of rolling hills, dense forest, and an ominous Crimson City. Chased by a crazed mob and mysterious characters neither friend nor foe, the Human takes an unexpected journey that will lead to his salvation... or damnation. Stone Sour/Slipknot singer Corey Taylor has written this graphic novel to accompany the narrative of Stone Sour's two House of Gold & Bones albums!

Image result for House of Gold & Bones part 1

House of Gold & Bones is the complete collection of the four-volume comics that coincided with the release of Stone Sour’s double disc release of the same name. It tells the tale of a Human that finds himself in a world of horror with no clear way out.

Being a huge fan of both of Corey Taylor’s non-fiction novels and of  Stone Sour’s House of Gold & Bones albums it was too intriguing a concept to pass up. The majority of the illustrations had a raw and unpolished feel and the story itself was a world of fantasy and horror. I loved the creativity behind this and his vision as a whole and would love to see what other concepts he comes up with. A definite for fans of Corey Taylor and Stone Sour.

Divider

Early Review – A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven by Corey Taylor

July 11, 2013 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Read in 2013 3 Comments

I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Review – A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven by Corey TaylorA Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven by Corey Taylor
Published by Da Capo Press on July 16th 2013
Pages: 256
Genres: Ghosties, Memoir, Non-Fiction
Format: ARC
Source: the Publisher
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: Seven Deadly Sins: Settling the Argument Between Born Bad and Damaged Good, House of Gold & Bones, You're Making Me Hate You: A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense Left

four-half-stars

In this book, Corey Taylor undertakes something never before attempted in the history of rock superstardom: he takes you with him as he journeys undercover through various ghostbusting groups who do their best to gather information and evidence about the existence of spirits. Some are more credible than others, and, frankly, some are completely insane, but all are observed with appropriate seriousness as Taylor attempts to better understand some of the spooky things that have happened to him in his life, especially that night at the Cold House.

But that’s not all, folks. Taylor once again gives you a behind-the-scenes tour of his crazy life and the many beyond-the-grave events he’s encountered. (You’ll be shocked how often Slipknot has been invaded by the supernatural.) Taylor also touches on his religious background and how it led him to believe in much more than the Man in the Sky.

‘Thinking back now, it was really just a creepy house that creaked and shuddered, but to impressionable nine-year-olds, it was the vacation spot of the devil itself.’

To give you all a proper introduction for those who are unaware, Corey Taylor is the lead singer of Slipknot and Stone Sour and the author of Seven Deadly Sins. ‘A Funny Thing Happened’ is a worthy follow-up novel and another tantalizing look into the mind of an incredibly interesting man.

At face value I was expecting ‘A Funny Thing Happened’ to be a random smattering of ghostly encounters he has had over the years, and it is, yet it’s a fascinating exploration into the reasoning behind ghosts. His scientific details will definitely get you wondering because his hypotheses generated some genuinely possible answers. Surprisingly intellectual and educational, ‘A Funny Thing Happened’ is definitely a conduit that spurs some serious debates regarding the existence of the paranormal.

‘Cynics will claims that my “eyewitness accounts” can easily be described as “flights of fancy,” or “the trappings of an overactive imagination.” […] the one I hate even worse than those others: “You saw what you wanted to see and nothing more.”

Let me fucking telling you something: I did not want to see this shit, and I still do not want to see this shit.’

A Funny Thing Happened is written with a humor that is harsh and biting yet oh so entertaining. This is a man that isn’t afraid to speak his mind yet is graciously considerate of others beliefs. He’s mindful and respectful of others beliefs regardless of whether or not he shares them. Simply put, he is a man of many opinions and isn’t afraid to share… such as it should be.

‘Belief is a gift you should cherish; knowledge is a gift you should never squander.’

This book is like one big discussion, all topics are left open to interpretation, without concrete facts, just mindful musings and hypotheses. It will definitely generate antithetical opinions, however, approach this with an open mind and you may find yourself actually considering the possibilities of an alternate opinion. Or maybe you’ll remain a skeptic. Either way, this book will definitely leave you something to ponder.

Divider

Book Review – Seven Deadly Sins by Corey Taylor

July 31, 2011 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2011 0 Comments

Book Review – Seven Deadly Sins by Corey TaylorSeven Deadly Sins: Settling the Argument Between Born Bad and Damaged Good by Corey Taylor
Published by Da Capo Press on July 12th 2011
Pages: 256
Genres: Funny-ha-ha, Memoir, Non-Fiction
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven, House of Gold & Bones, You're Making Me Hate You: A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense Left

five-stars

For the first time, Slipknot and Stone Sour frontman Corey Taylor speaks directly to his fans and shares his worldview about life as a sinner. And Taylor knows how to sin. As a small-town hero in the early '90s, he threw himself into a fierce-drinking, drug-abusing, hard-loving, live-for-the moment life. Soon Taylor's music exploded, and he found himself rich, wanted, and on the road. His new and ever-more extreme lifestyle had an unexpected effect, however; for the first time, he began to actively think about what it meant to sin and whether sinning could--or should--be recast in a different light. Seven Deadly Sins is Taylor's personal story, but it's also a larger discussion of what it means to be seen as either a "good" person or a "bad" one. Yes, Corey Taylor has broken the law and hurt people, but, if sin is what makes us human, how wrong can it be?

“The seven deadly sins are bullshit.”

And so it begins… the book I’ve wanted to read the second I found out about it. And I’m so very happy to say that I wasn’t disappointed, displeased, or dissatisfied in anyway. This book is not; however, for the masses. For starters, this book is not an autobiography of Corey Taylor’s life and is not some in-depth heartfelt retelling of his life of sin. It may be a retelling of his life of sin, but it’s far from heartfelt. It’s honest, straightforward, brutal, and in your face. It’s definitely off the wall and all over the place; but that’s what makes it great.

“This book is a few parts flight, a handful of fancy, and a lot of why there is such a thing as freedom of the soul.”

This book is not only entertaining and funny as hell, but Corey Taylor’s thoughts and opinions were pretty damn great. This is where the honest and in your face comes into play. His thoughts and opinions totally go against every typical conformist belief and will more than likely succeed in offending many. I on the other hand, think he’s brilliant.

“So the misguided acts of my past have brought me to the virtues of my present and will hopefully lead me to the grace of my future. But I do not consider them “sins.” I consider the mistakes, capriciousness in the face of youthful abandon.”

The few reviews I have read on this book show people complaining about the lack of depth and how he’s one big narcissist and needs to be more socially responsible. Number one, this is Corey fucking Taylor and he’s wearing horns, smoking a cigarette, and drinking on the very front cover. What’d you expect? Number two, the man is only speaking the truth. He may be a little crazy and may not be the socially responsible human being you’d like him to be, but personally, I’ll take this Corey Taylor any day. He’s hilariously entertaining and I hope he continues writing in the future.

Divider