Author: Kevin Hearne

Life’s Too Short – Made for Love, A Plague of Giants, Shadowless

December 30, 2017 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Life's Too Short 2 Comments

I received this book free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Life’s Too Short – Made for Love, A Plague of Giants, ShadowlessMade for Love by Alissa Nutting
Published by Ecco on July 4th 2017
Pages: 320
Genres: Contemporary
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Audible
Goodreads

Also by this author: Tampa

dnf

Hazel has just moved into a trailer park of senior citizens, with her father and Diane—his extremely lifelike sex doll—as her roommates. Life with Hazel’s father is strained at best, but her only alternative seems even bleaker. She’s just run out on her marriage to Byron Gogol, CEO and founder of Gogol Industries, a monolithic corporation hell-bent on making its products and technologies indispensable in daily life. For over a decade, Hazel put up with being veritably quarantined by Byron in the family compound, her every movement and vital sign tracked. But when he demands to wirelessly connect the two of them via brain chips in a first-ever human “mind-meld,” Hazel decides what was once merely irritating has become unbearable. The world she escapes into is a far cry from the dry and clinical bubble she’s been living in, a world populated with a whole host of deviant oddballs.

As Hazel tries to carve out a new life for herself in this uncharted territory, Byron is using the most sophisticated tools at his disposal to find her and bring her home. His threats become more and more sinister, and Hazel is forced to take drastic measures in order to find a home of her own and free herself from Byron’s virtual clutches once and for all.

DNF @ 40%

I knew from having read Tampa that Nutting could come up with some bizarre shit of a storyline that I’d still relish in reading. But I have come to realize with this novel that even I have limits. Made for Love felt like some bizarro Black Mirror parody sort of world where Hazel leaves her husband Byron who wants to implant a mind-meld chip into her brain. We’re given a flashback to how they met and it was all such a hilarious spoof on Fifty Shades of Grey and I was completely on board. Even the terribly awkward (but extremely comical) return home to her father where she finds him residing with a real-life sex-doll named Diane. Bizarre, yes. But I was still fully on board. I’m apparently cool with strange science fiction storylines and sex-dolls but I draw the line with strange men attracted to dolphins. Yeah, you read that right. After several chapters of Hazel and her father (and we mustn’t forget Diane), we’re thrown for a loop when we’re introduced to Jasper who, after conning his latest girlfriend into giving him all her money and bailing, experiences a random dolphin attack and finds himself only attracted to dolphins. And describes this attraction in explicit detail. I may never look at a dolphin the same.

Image result for what the fuck gif

I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Life’s Too Short – Made for Love, A Plague of Giants, ShadowlessA Plague of Giants by Kevin Hearne
Series: Seven Kennings #1
Published by Del Rey Books on October 17th 2017
Pages: 618
Genres: Fantasy
Format: ARC
Source: the Publisher
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Audible
Goodreads

Also by this author: Hounded, Hammered

dnf

In the start of a compelling new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world of warring giants and elemental magic.

In the city of Pelemyn, Fintan the bard takes to the stage to tell what really happened the night the giants came . . .

From the east came the Bone Giants, from the south, the fire-wielding Hathrim - an invasion that sparked war across the six nations of Teldwen. The kingdom's only hope is the discovery of a new form of magic that calls the world's wondrous beasts to fight by the side of humankind.

DNF @ 30%

I really loved the first few installments of Hearne’s Iron Druid Chronicles but I called it quits after book four. The humor was still there, the great characters, but it started to feel very repetitive. I heard about a brand new series coming from him and was so ready for a fresh new story. And one about a fantasy world with giants and magic? Oh man, I’m so disappointed this wasn’t all I had hoped it to be. The opening was extremely promising, where a bard with magical abilities begins to tell the story of the Bone Giants. He’s able to take on the appearance and voice of individuals so most of the first chapters were voiced by a different individual with a different perspective of things ongoing. Around the time when Hearne attempts to merge their storylines together was when he lost me. There were too many characters with obscure names, too many points of view, and too much to keep track off right from the beginning to keep me invested.

Image result for I don't understand gif

I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Life’s Too Short – Made for Love, A Plague of Giants, ShadowlessShadowless by Hasan Ali Toptaş
Published by Bloomsbury on October 17th 2017
Pages: 320
Genres: Literary Fiction
Format: Hardcover
Source: the Publisher
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads


dnf

Hasan Ali Toptaş, "the Turkish Kafka", playfully challenges ideas of identity and memory in this surprising and beguiling novel.

In an Anatolian village forgotten by both God and the government, the muhtar has been elected leader for the sixteenth successive year. When he drunkenly staggers to bed that night, the village is prospering. But when he awakes to discover that Nuri, the barber, has disappeared in the dead of night, the community begins to fracture. In a nameless town far, far away, Nuri walks into a barbershop, not knowing how he has arrived. Blurring the lines of reality to terrific effect, this novel is both a compelling mystery and an enduring evocation of displacement.

DNF @ 15%

I typically stick with a pretty concrete set of genres because literary fiction and I so rarely get along. Sometimes I really try to push myself out of my comfort zone, hoping to find some diamond in the rough that will inevitably encourage me to venture outside that zone more often. This is one of those out of my comfort zone picks. Unfortunately, this is not encouraging me to pick up more literary fiction but instead to stay securely comfortable in the genres that I consistently love.

I never quite understood what was going on because it was this strange blend of literary fiction and magical realism, except I guess it’s supposed to be real but honestly, I don’t even know. I’m sure there is some beauty to a story such as this but when “his ears grew larger than soup ladles”, the broom suddenly had a voice, walls shivered at his touch, and his hair grew back immediately after being cut I just knew this was unfortunately not the book for me.

Image result for so done gif

Divider

Book Review – Hammered (Iron Druid Chronicles, #3) by Kevin Hearne

March 28, 2012 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2012 4 Comments

I received this book free from Goodreads First Reads in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review – Hammered (Iron Druid Chronicles, #3) by Kevin HearneHammered by Kevin Hearne
Series: The Iron Druid Chronicles #3
Published by Del Rey on July 5, 2011
Pages: 336
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Goodreads First Reads
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Hounded, A Plague of Giants

four-stars

Thor, the Norse god of thunder, is worse than a blowhard and a bully—he’s ruined countless lives and killed scores of innocents. After centuries, Viking vampire Leif Helgarson is ready to get his vengeance, and he’s asked his friend Atticus O’Sullivan, the last of the Druids, to help take down this Norse nightmare.

One survival strategy has worked for Atticus for more than two thousand years: stay away from the guy with the lightning bolts. Plus things are heating up in his home base of Tempe, Arizona. There’s a vampire turf war brewing, and Russian demon hunters who call themselves the Hammers of God are running rampant. Despite multiple warnings and portents of dire consequences, Atticus and Leif journey to the Norse plane of Asgard, where they team up with a werewolf, a sorcerer, and an army of frost giants for an epic showdown against vicious Valkyries, angry Norse gods, and the hammer-wielding Thunder Thug himself.

The Iron Druid Chronicles series

Book Review – Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles #1) by Kevin HearneHexed (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #2)

Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles #1) {My Review}
Hexed (The Iron Druid Chronicles #2)

Storyline
Poor Atticus just can’t catch a break can he? Hammered picks up right where Hexed left off and Atticus is fulfilling the promise he made to Laksha: steal the golden apples of Idunn in Asgard. After that near impossible task he also needs to fulfill the promise he made to vampire Leif Helgarson: take him to Thor’s realm in order to battle him.

Thoughts
Okay, enough about the storyline. Here’s what you really need to know: this story/series is HILARIOUS and is steadily climbing up my favorite list. Hammered ended up being quite a bit darker than past installments but was no less enjoyable. I mean how can you not love a book with lines like this:

“Now go and stake some vamps. Especially the sparkly emo ones.”

“There’s a reason Bath & Body Works doesn’t have a line of products called Huge Fucking Squirrel.”

“Is monstrous fuckpuddle,” Perun asserted, and everyone turned to stare at him with equal parts amusement and bemusement. “What? Is this not English word?”

This was naturally my favorite conversation bit out of the entire story:

“Oh noes, kitteh haz major angriez!” I said. I turned around to share a laugh with my companions and found them glaring at me. “What?” I asked.
Leif shook a finger and said in a low, menacing tone, “If you tell me I have to talk like an illiterate halfwit to fit into this society, I will punch you.”
“And I’ll pull out your goatee,” Gunnar added.
“Lolcat iz new happeh wai 2 talk,” I explained to them. “U doan haz 2 be kitteh 2 speek it.”

If you’re like me, this series sat on my shelf for quite a long time and I just never picked it up. Don’t make the same mistakes I did! This series is fabulously fun, incredibly original, and has an incredibly intriguing storyline that I can’t get enough of. The 4th installment Tricked comes out April 24, 2012.

Divider

Book Review – Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles #1) by Kevin Hearne

January 19, 2012 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2012 7 Comments

Book Review – Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles #1) by Kevin HearneHounded by Kevin Hearne
Series: The Iron Druid Chronicles #1
Published by Orbit on May 3, 2011
Pages: 320
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Hammered, A Plague of Giants

four-stars

Atticus O’Sullivan, last of the Druids, lives peacefully in Arizona, running an occult bookshop and shape-shifting in his spare time to hunt with his Irish wolfhound. His neighbors and customers think that this handsome, tattooed Irish dude is about twenty-one years old—when in actuality, he’s twenty-one centuries old. Not to mention: He draws his power from the earth, possesses a sharp wit, and wields an even sharper magical sword known as Fragarach, the Answerer.

Unfortunately, a very angry Celtic god wants that sword, and he’s hounded Atticus for centuries. Now the determined deity has tracked him down, and Atticus will need all his power—plus the help of a seductive goddess of death, his vampire and werewolf team of attorneys, a sexy bartender possessed by a Hindu witch, and some good old-fashioned luck of the Irish—to kick some Celtic arse and deliver himself from evil.

Atticus is a 21 centuries old red-headed Irishmen but he only looks 21 years old living in Tempe, Arizona. He’s the last of the Druids and has been in hiding to keep Aenghus Óg, a Celtic god, from finding him. Unfortunately he’s been discovered and he’s coming for him… but this time he decides not to run. He’s sick of hiding, sick of running, and he’s ready to fight.

It’s always nice to find a new Urban Fantasy series that is a refreshing change from your typical vampires and werewolves. Don’t get me wrong, I love those books too but it’s nice to mix it up a bit or storylines end up blending together for me. On top of the refreshing change, this story was surprisingly free of all things I abhor about your typical fiction these days: love triangles and cliffhangers.

I felt that this was an extremely well written story full of snarky lines that I love so much. The relationship between Atticus and Oberon (his wolfhound) was borderline adorable. They were more on a friend level than owner/pet; considering that they were able to speak to each other with their minds probably had something to do with it. I also enjoyed how the gods and goddesses speech was entirely different than mere mortals and how formal and full of thought they seemed to give each line.

“He came out of a building called ‘Crussh,’ holding one of these potions. Are you familiar with the building, Druid?”
“I believe that is a smoothie bar in England.”
“Quite right. So after I killed him and stowed his body next to the doe, I sampled his smoothie concoction in the parking lot and found it to be quite delicious.”
See, sentences like that are why I nurture a healthy fear of the Tuatha Dé Danann.

The only issue I had was keeping up with the vast amounts of information on Celtic mythology. This wasn’t exactly an issue per say, just a personal problem I had as I’m not familiar with it at all. I felt that the author still did an awesome job at sufficiently explaining all the intricate details for those of us who, like me, are just unfamiliar.

I will definitely be reading the other books in this series; I have no doubt they’ll be just as enjoyable.

Divider