Author: Nicole Peeler

Early Review – Tempest Reborn (Jane True #6) by Nicole Peeler

May 4, 2013 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Read in 2013 2 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley, the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Review – Tempest Reborn (Jane True #6) by Nicole PeelerTempest Reborn by Nicole Peeler
Series: Jane True #6
Published by Orbit on May 28th 2013
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, the Publisher
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Tempest Rising, Tracking the Tempest, Eye of the Tempest

one-half-stars

Anyan may be trapped in an evil dragon and Blondie may be gone, but Jane knows one thing: she's not about to give up. She's ready to tear down heaven and earth to save her lover, despite those who believe he's lost.

Luckily for Jane, those who've given up on Anyan do not include those closest to her. Defying The Powers That Be, Jane and Company form their own crack squad of misfits, in whose hands the fate of the world may well rest.

With a little help from her friends, the Universe, and lots of snacks, Jane embarks on her greatest adventure yet, confident that with great sacrifice comes great reward. The question is, who will be that sacrifice?

Jane True series

Tempest Rising (Jane True, #1)
Tracking the Tempest (Jane True, #2)
Tempest’s Legacy (Jane True, #3)
Eye of the Tempest (Jane True, #4)
Tempest’s Fury (Jane True, #5)

*Spoilers ahead. And cussing. In case you have sensitive ears or whatnot.*

Tempest Reborn wastes no time in diving right into the story and right where Tempest’s Fury left us all in the lurch. Jane’s boyfriend Anyan is still trapped in the White Dragon but Jane is still the champion and still responsible for stopping the Red and the White, even if that includes killing Anyan in the process. Naturally she can’t do it alone but she luckily has more help on her side than she realizes.

Admittedly, I adored this series from the start yet my adoration has lessened in recent installments. It still didn’t stop me from reading them, obviously, but it was still vexing. Tempest Reborn is the final installment of the series. Final. End of. Conclusion. Grand finale. Yet this felt like it was thrown together all haphazardly and rushed and like it was some indie novel that completely skipped the vital editing process. Take this for instance:

“Nothing was ever simple in the Great Island, however, the supernatural name for Great Britain, as both the Alfar…”
Then 3 pages later:
“[…]referring to the official supernatural leaders of the Great Island, or what the humans called Britain.
Then 8 pages after that:
“But between our constantly being a step behind and the political machinations of the Great Island, what the supernaturals called Britain…”
*pulls out hair*

Even the funny Jane moments felt forced and not at all funny:
“It’s like we have a permanent line of communication, an exclusive line, but we’re still totally separate. And sometimes we’re in more communication than others. Sometimes it’s like we haven’t bothered to pick up the Bat Phone at all for a while, and it’s like it’s not even there. But then if need, it voilà! Bat Phone.”
Make it stop.

And the sexy-time scenes… they felt a bit superfluous. I mean I’m sure people still have sex when the world is going to complete shit but after a while it was like, “Get the fuck up and DO something people!” And lastly there was the scene where they’re discussing plans for the finale battle and then Jane spontaneously says, “Let’s go dancing!”

The storyline just took a strange turn of events and got crazy serious and was nothing like the fun Jane True series I grew to love. Without going into extreme detail this plot includes the following: alchemy and how the process of turning metals to gold is really a metaphor for separating the soul from the body, discussions with the (actual) Universe and the creation of all things and the balance between good and evil, tea with the Dalai Lama and later some assistance from the ‘monk army’ in a battle, then let’s throw in some government conspiracy type shit and super-spies to boot. It just didn’t seem fitting with the rest of the series and what’s been going on the past 5 books.

*sigh* I just don’t even know what to think I’m so very bummed. Quite sad to see this series come to an end and have it end as it did. At least I can look forward to a new project from Nicole Peeler.

Divider

Early Review – Tempest’s Fury (Jane True #5) by Nicole Peeler

June 13, 2012 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Read in 2012 0 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley, the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Review – Tempest’s Fury (Jane True #5) by Nicole PeelerTempest's Fury by Nicole Peeler
Series: Jane True #5
Published by Orbit on June 26th 2012
Pages: 356
Genres: Romance, Urban Fantasy
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, the Publisher
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Tempest Rising, Tracking the Tempest, Eye of the Tempest

three-half-stars

Jane's not happy. She's been packed off to England to fight in a war when she'd much rather be snogging Anyan. Unfortunately, Jane's enemies have been busy stirring up some major trouble -- the kind that attracts a lot of attention. In other words, they're not making it easy for Jane to get any alone time with the barghest, or to indulge in her penchant for stinky cheese.

Praying she can pull of a Joan of Arc without the whole martyrdom thing, Jane must lead Alfar and halflings alike in a desperate battle to combat an ancient evil. Catapulted into the role of Most Unlikely Hero Ever, Jane also has to fight her own insecurities as well as the doubts of those who don't think she can live up to her new role as Champion.

Along the way, Jane learns that some heroes are born. Some are made. And some are bribed with promises of food and sex.

Jane True series

Tempest Rising (Jane True, #1)Tracking the Tempest (Jane True, #2)Tempest's Legacy (Jane True, #3)Eye of the Tempest (Jane True, #4)

Heads up: Potential spoilers for those of you who have not read Books 1-4!

Yet another action-packed story in the Jane True series! In Tempest’s Fury, Jane, Anyan, and Blondie are off to England in order for Jane to fulfill her new role as Champion.

The Good
I really enjoyed seeing Jane’s transformation, especially after so many stories, into a powerful badass chick. Never lacking in snarky, Jane was still able to realize how important she was in this war and the need for her to step up to the plate and be the Champion that everyone needed her to be. Personally, I loved Jane’s goofiness in past installments but loved how the author managed to mature her but at the same time keep her the same awesome character she’s always been. Her new-found maturity extended into her new relationship with Anyan as well, but of course her libido was ever present. 😀

The Bad
Okay so this isn’t really BAD but it fits with my ‘headline’ theme. 🙂 The one thing that I felt was lacking which obviously couldn’t be helped due to location were all the characters from Rockabill! I missed Iris and Nill and Trill and Tracie and Grizzie. There were brief scenes where Jane spoke with them over the phone just to check in but it wasn’t the same. Never quite realized what an integral part of the story they were until now. Will definitely look forward to the next installment where I hope they play a bigger role again.

The Ugly
Final page thought: Holy cliffhanger, batman.
Seriously. That shit was brutal. Jaw was on the floor and everything. No I’m not going to tell you so don’t ask but holy hell… Just be prepared, that’s all I gotta say.

And here I thought that this might be the final installment! No idea why I thought that but that is clearly not the case.

Divider

Book Review – Eye of the Tempest (Jane True, #4) by Nicole Peeler

October 24, 2011 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2011 0 Comments

Book Review – Eye of the Tempest (Jane True, #4) by Nicole PeelerEye of the Tempest by Nicole Peeler
Series: Jane True #4
Published by Orbit on August 1, 2011
Pages: 342
Genres: Romance, Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Tempest Rising, Tracking the Tempest, Tempest's Fury

three-half-stars

Nothing says "home" like being attacked by humans with very large guns, as Jane and Anyan discover when they arrive in Rockabill. These are professionals, brought into kill, and they bring Anyan down before either Jane or the barghest can react. Seeing Anyan fall awakens a terrible power within Jane, and she nearly destroys herself taking out their attackers.

Jane wakes, weeks later, to discover that she's not the only thing that's been stirring. Something underneath Rockabill is coming to life: something ancient, something powerful, and something that just might destroy the world.

Jane and her friends must act, striking out on a quest that only Jane can finish. For whatever lurks beneath the Old Sow must be stopped...and Jane's just the halfling for the job.

Jane True Series

Tempest Rising (Jane True, #1)Tracking the Tempest (Jane True, #2)Tempest's Legacy (Jane True, #3)

Tempest Rising (Jane True #1)
Tracking the Tempest (Jane True #2)
Tempest’s Legacy (Jane True #3)

Alright, it’s official. I love Nicole Peeler. There, I’ve said it. I’m SO glad that I finally got off my ass and read her Jane True series because it is truly a wonderful, hilarious, hell of a good time series. In the fourth installment of the Jane True series, after an altercation with a group of humans who attacked Jane and Anyan, Jane uses a power against them that no one knew she possessed. She used so much magic that she practically fell into a coma for the better part of a month. When she wakes, things aren’t much better; actually, they’re quite worse. Jane’s friends inform her that Phaedra’s evil group has been searching out the locations of four ‘locks’ that are around Rockabill that when unlocked will unleash and ancient power. It’s up to Jane to locate the locks and get to this ancient power first so it doesn’t fall into the wrong hands.

I won’t continue to gush about my love for this series, I’m sure everyone is fully aware by now, since this will now be my fourth review of this series and I’m probably starting to sound like a broken record. As far as new thoughts and feelings, I must say I am so glad that Jane and Anyan are still ‘together’. I absolutely adore those two.

I loved seeing Iris go through her healing process after what she suffered in the 3rd book. It made it all the more real that the author didn’t simply glaze over that whole ordeal and transform Iris right back to her normal funky self.

It never ceases to crack me up how Jane’s libido has a life of its own and it’s almost a completely separate entity form Jane.

’Now I can do the slurping! My libido crowed, causing me to blush. I hated when I blushed at my own sex drive.’

I had this horrible feeling that I was going to be left with some massive cliffhanger about midway through the book. Fortunately, that feeling was short-lived as Nicole managed to wrap it up quite nicely. All I have to say though… poor Jane and Anyan. Lol Can’t they get cut some slack here??? I can’t wait for the fifth installment; this series just keeps getting more and more exciting!

If you have yet to read this series, well… what are you waiting for?!

Divider

Book Review – Tracking the Tempest (Jane True #2) by Nicole Peeler

September 27, 2011 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2011 1 Comment

Book Review – Tracking the Tempest (Jane True #2) by Nicole PeelerTracking the Tempest by Nicole Peeler
Series: Jane True #2
Published by Orbit on June 16, 2010
Pages: 368
Genres: Romance, Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Tempest Rising, Eye of the Tempest, Tempest's Fury

four-stars

 

Valentine's Day is fast approaching, and Ryu - Jane's bloodsucking boyfriend — can't let a major holiday go by without getting all gratuitous. An overwhelming dose of boyfriend interference and a last-minute ticket to Boston later, and Jane's life is thrown off course.

Ryu's well-intentioned plans create mayhem, and Jane winds up embroiled in an investigation involving a spree of gruesome killings. All the evidence points towards another Halfling, much to Jane's surprise...

 

Jane True series

 Tempest Rising (Jane True, #1)

Tempest Rising (Jane True #1)

I definitely didn’t like this one as much as the first and for one reason and one reason alone: the romance. Or whatever you want to call it. The drama between Jane and Ryu encompassed almost the entire novel and I thought it was a bit much.

Ryu second-guessing Jane and treating her like a child and just being an all-around prick was driving me NUTS. I haven’t cared for Ryu from the very beginning, he’s too cocky, he doesn’t seem to really care about Jane (although vice versa too.. Jane doesn’t appear to be in it for the long run either) he’s just always been a bit ‘off’ to me. And then telling her to stay home like a good girl? My eyes practically bulged out of my head and I proceeded to try and mentally manipulate the story so that I could kick his ass through Jane. Yes, I was that pissed (and delusional). Suffice it to say I was ecstatic when she kicked him to the curb. Although I still don’t understand what took her so long, she was obviously having a lot of internal conflict about their whole situation for a while.

‘I gotta admit, it felt really fucking good.
But I’d never felt so much like a goddamned granola bar in my entire life.’

If your boyfriend makes you feel like food… warning!

I loved how this book held the same sense of humor from the first and Jane’s internal dialogue, although not as prevalent, was still there to an extent. Still definitely a great series that I’ll be continuing shortly. 🙂

Divider

Book Review – Tempest Rising (Jane True #1) by Nicole Peeler

September 22, 2011 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2011 0 Comments

Book Review – Tempest Rising (Jane True #1) by Nicole PeelerTempest Rising by Nicole Peeler
Series: Jane True #1
Published by Orbit on October 14, 2009
Pages: 372
Genres: Romance, Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Tracking the Tempest, Eye of the Tempest, Tempest's Fury

four-stars

 

Living in small town Rockabill, Maine, Jane True always knew she didn't quite fit in with so-called normal society. During her nightly, clandestine swim in the freezing winter ocean, a grisly find leads Jane to startling revelations about her heritage: she is only half-human.

Now, Jane must enter a world filled with supernatural creatures alternatively terrifying, beautiful, and deadly- all of which perfectly describe her new "friend," Ryu, a gorgeous and powerful vampire.

It is a world where nothing can be taken for granted: a dog can heal with a lick; spirits bag your groceries; and whatever you do, never-ever-rub the genie's lamp.

You would think I’d learn my lesson by this point in my life… a lesson engraved in me since childhood: never judge a book by its cover. This is definitely a prime example of that, for sure. I mean taking a good look at this you may note that it’s a cartoon picture (warning automatically goes off in my head), there’s a strange dog with a giraffe like-neck in the background (seriously, that dog has one seriously long neck), and this strange looking girl that looks like she jumped out of my computer from one of those Yahoo! avatars. This may be one odd book cover (all of them in this series are, actually) but it certainly does nothing to justify the story within.

I really enjoyed this book and am glad to say I have found a new series to be keeping my eyes out for. It’s a refreshing take on the usual array of supernatural beasties… you’ve got your normal vampires and shape shifters but then some kelpies and selkies are thrown into the mix including some gnomes (with powers!) and even a rock spirit (still trying to work that one out in my head though). Jane True’s supernatural-ness isn’t automatically known (by her either), so I won’t ruin it for those who have yet to read this book. I thought it was an interesting take, learning about who she is and what she’s capable of right along with her. Jane’s continuous inner commentary was absolutely hysterical. I don’t typically care for characters that make fun of themselves time after time; however, this was done in such a light, funny manner that I couldn’t help but laugh right along with her. And the continuous internal monologue about her libido? Priceless.

The Love Interest
So we’re obviously talking about Ryu here… even though I didn’t particularly LOVE him personally. I’ve never been a big fan of leading men that know without a doubt that they’re hot shit; that just rubs me the wrong way. You can know you’re hot but not act like a total douche about it. Personally, I’m liking Anyan and I really hope to see more of him. I loved how the author wrote it though; not your typical love triangle. She kept Anyan in the mix without making the whole thing overly obnoxious, and on top of that he was respectful of her and Ryu’s relationship.

I’m jumping right into book 2! 😀

Divider