Author: Rachel Hawkins

Waiting on Wednesday – Journey’s End by Rachel Hawkins

August 17, 2016 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday 1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday – Journey’s End by Rachel HawkinsJourney's End by Rachel Hawkins
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers on October 25th 2016
Pages: 304
Genres: Fantasy
Format: Hardcover
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: Hex Hall, Demonglass, Spell Bound

The town of Journey's End may not literally be at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. Spending the summer with her scientist father in the tiny Scottish village isn't exactly Nolie's idea of a good time, but she soon finds a friend: native Journey's Ender Bel McKissick.

While Nolie's father came to Journey's End to study the Boundary--a mysterious fog bank offshore--Bel's family can’t afford to consider it a threat. The McKissick’s livelihood depends on the tourists drawn by legends of a curse. Still, whether you believe in magic or science, going into the Boundary means you'll never come back.

…Unless you do. Albert Etheridge, a boy who disappeared into the Boundary in 1914, suddenly returns--without having aged a day and with no memory of the past hundred years. Then the Boundary starts creeping closer to the town, threatening to consume everyone within.

While Nolie's father wants to have the village evacuated, Bel's parents lead the charge to stay in Journey's End. Meanwhile, Albert and the girls look for ways to stop the encroaching boundary, coming across an ancient Scottish spell that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice.

About Rachel Hawkins

Rachel Hawkins is the author of Rebel Belle and theNew York Times bestselling series Hex Hall. Born in Virginia and raised in Alabama, Rachel taught high school English for three years before becoming a full-time writer.

border24

Rachel Hawkins. Middle grade adventure. Magic. Scotland. Yes, to all of the above!

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

border24

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine

bonnie blog signature

Divider

Early Review – School Spirits (School Spirits #1) by Rachel Hawkins

April 26, 2013 Bonnie Book Reviews, Early Review, Read in 2013, YA 3 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Review – School Spirits (School Spirits #1) by Rachel HawkinsSchool Spirits by Rachel Hawkins
Series: School Spirits #1
Published by Disney Hyperion on May 14th 2013
Pages: 304
Genres: Fantasy, Ghosties, Paranormal, Vampires
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Hex Hall, Demonglass, Spell Bound

three-half-stars

Fifteen-year-old Izzy Brannick was trained to fight monsters. For centuries, her family has hunted magical creatures. But when Izzy’s older sister vanishes without a trace while on a job, Izzy's mom decides they need to take a break.

Izzy and her mom move to a new town, but they soon discover it’s not as normal as it appears. A series of hauntings has been plaguing the local high school, and Izzy is determined to prove her worth and investigate. But assuming the guise of an average teenager is easier said than done. For a tough girl who's always been on her own, it’s strange to suddenly make friends and maybe even have a crush.

Can Izzy trust her new friends to help find the secret behind the hauntings before more people get hurt?

Rachel Hawkins' delightful spin-off brings the same wit and charm as the New York Times best-selling Hex Hall series. Get ready for more magic, mystery and romance!

Izzy Brannick comes from a long line of monster hunters. Her family hunts them all for the Prodigium, the council that governs them all. The council that her cousin Sophie Mercer is in charge of. Izzy hasn’t been the same since her sister went missing on a job both of them were supposed to be working on. She blames herself since she was supposed to be with her but ended up letting her go off by herself. Add to that, she just screwed up her last solo job and her mom has given her a lame assignment. It involves a ghost. And a high school. Which she has to personally attend.

I was a bit undecided when I heard about this spin-off series but when I got my hands on it my love of Hex Hall that had lay dormant sudden came alive again and I had to read this immediately. And in a single day. Hex Hall fans will love this spin-off, I have no doubt.

Izzy is such a charming yet completely clueless girl when it comes to the normal lives of teenagers. She considers black a satisfactory color for her entire wardrobe and she lacks any sort of social skills considering she’s never been social and has never attended public school. So when she finds out she’s going to have to actually attend a high school in order to get the necessary information to bring down the ghost that’s currently haunting its halls, she’s at a loss on how to acclimate. She buys all the teen magazines and the goofy teen TV shows in order to ‘understand’ more and… suffice it to say, it’s hilarious.

Despite her lack of social skills, there still manages to be a completely adorable romance. Izzy and Dex are hilarious and awkward and it was completely endearing. It totally gave the warm fuzzies, I only wish it had gone on for more pages (this was an extremely quick read!) but fortunately this is the first in a new series so I look forward to seeing more Dex and Izzy time. Dex was definitely my favorite character with his peppy one-liners, but there were tons of characters to love in these pages. Torin, the 400-year old warlock currently trapped in Izzy’s bedroom mirror, was a runner-up favorite.

Despite my gushing, I wasn’t completely content with the ending. It wasn’t so off-putting that I won’t be continuing this series, but it’ll be interesting to see where the story leads.

School Spirits is a delightful paranormal series with an unforgettable set of characters. Fun and full of witty banter, this is the perfect read for anyone looking for some quick mystical entertainment.

Divider

Book Review – Spell Bound (Hex Hall #3) by Rachel Hawkins

March 14, 2012 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2012, YA 0 Comments

Book Review – Spell Bound (Hex Hall #3) by Rachel HawkinsSpell Bound by Rachel Hawkins
Series: Hex Hall #3
Published by Disney Hyperion on March 13th 2012
Pages: 337
Genres: Fantasy, Funny-ha-ha, Paranormal
Format: eBook
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Hex Hall, Demonglass, School Spirits

two-half-stars

Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted.

Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.

Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?

Man… where do I start. Big sigh for this one. Big disappointment for me. I’m very sad this series is over and there won’t be a chance to make something more of this series. I read the first and second books back to back when the second book was released and fell in love with Sophie and Jenna and Hex Hall and Archer and Cal and the world that Rachel Hawkins created. I was so eager to get my hands on Spell Bound that I had the release date marked on my calendar even. To say I was anticipating this like no other is an understatement.

I’m typically wary of the final books in series because they are rarely wrapped up sufficiently in my opinion and Spell Bound definitely fell in that category. For being such a short book and having so many loose ends that still needed tying up, I was extremely surprised that it took so long for anything to actually happen (plot-wise). Midway through the book I found myself bored and begging for something interesting to happen; it was really quite upsetting. Once the plot started actually ‘progressing’ I felt it was very forced, lacked sufficient explanation, and lacked in excitement.

I remember Sophie being a lot of fun and really funny in the first two books but despite the fact that there were some really funny moments her humor really fell a little flat for me. And her fluctuating maturity really drove me batty. One second she’d be acting like a mature young-adult making smart, rational decisions and the next moment she’s acting like a teen making immature statements. There were moments that still put a smile on my face and had me laughing but…I missed old Sophie in this one. As for the other characters I really enjoyed Jenna’s part but found myself really enjoying the scenes with the two new characters Izzy and Finley. Way too serious for their young age and pretty darn funny (but not an intentional funny. 🙂 )

There were some major ‘eh’ moments that I didn’t much care for. Don’t click if you haven’t read this! I don’t make spoiler tags for nothing.

View Spoiler »

View Spoiler »

View Spoiler »

View Spoiler »

Very sad this series is over and that this is how it ended. Nonetheless, I am very excited to see what Rachel Hawkins comes up with next!

Divider

Short & Sweet – Hex Hall (Hex Hall, #1) by Rachel Hawkins

July 16, 2011 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2011, Short & Sweet Reviews, YA 1 Comment

Short & Sweet – Hex Hall (Hex Hall, #1) by Rachel HawkinsHex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
Series: Hex Hall #1
Published by Hyperion on May 28th 2010
Pages: 337
Genres: Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Demonglass, Spell Bound, School Spirits

four-half-stars

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father-an elusive European warlock-only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire on campus.

Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect. As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

Okay, so I loved this book… even though it had a total ‘Harry Potter’ feel to it. Only exception was that the main character, Sophie Mercer, always knew she was a witch. She lived in the real world up until she tried to make a friend with a classmate by casting a love spell for her. The love spell went awry and because she made her powers known, she was shipped off to ‘Hex Hall’-Boarding School for the Gifted.

Not only did this book have very likable characters, an intriguing storyline, but it was hilarious. There were so many quotes I could have added as favorites; however, I stopped at 3…maybe 4. Lol

And the incident with Archer and Sophie in the cellar… Ahhhh! That had my mouth gaping. Even though I should have seen that one coming, it still threw me for a loop.

So now I must decide whether to jump right into Demonglass or wait… Decisions decisions. 🙂

Divider

Short & Sweet – Demonglass (Hex Hall #2) by Rachel Hawkins

July 16, 2011 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2011, Short & Sweet Reviews, YA 0 Comments

Short & Sweet – Demonglass (Hex Hall #2) by Rachel HawkinsDemonglass by Rachel Hawkins
Series: Hex Hall #2
Published by Disney Hyperion on March 22nd 2011
Pages: 359
Genres: Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Hex Hall, Spell Bound, School Spirits

four-half-stars

Sophie Mercer thought she was a witch. That was the whole reason she was sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium (aka witches, shapeshifters, and fairies). But that was before she discovered the family secret, and that her hot crush, Archer Cross, is an agent for The Eye, a group bent on wiping Prodigium off the face of the earth. Turns out, Sophie's a demon, one of only two in the world—the other being her father.

What's worse, she has powers that threaten the lives of everyone she loves. Which is precisely why Sophie decides she must go to London for the Removal, a dangerous procedure that will destroy her powers. But once Sophie arrives she makes a shocking discovery. Her new friends? They're demons too. Meaning someone is raising them in secret with creepy plans to use their powers, and probably not for good. Meanwhile, The Eye is set on hunting Sophie down, and they're using Acher to do it. But it's not like she has feelings for him anymore. Does she?

Yet another great book.. I think I actually enjoyed it a teensy bit more than Hex Hall; however, I did not laugh as much.

This book continues where the first left off with Sophie deciding to go through the Removal after she finds out she’s not actually a witch, but a demon, and a very powerful one at that. She flies to England with Cal (Love Cal-Archer can go away) and Jenna to meet her dad and spend some quality time with her as he is determined to change her mind about going through the Removal. While in England she finds out she’s betrothed, she meets other demons, and she comes face to face with Archer again.

Once again, another cliff-hanger ending and I’m sitting here pulling my hair out. Can’t wait till the 3rd installment is published. 🙂

Divider