Publisher: Dark Horse

Graphic Novel Review – House of Gold & Bones by Corey Taylor

December 7, 2013 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Graphic Novel, Read in 2013 2 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Graphic Novel Review – House of Gold & Bones by Corey TaylorHouse of Gold & Bones by Corey Taylor
Published by Dark Horse on December 10th 2013
Pages: 104
Genres: Fantasy, Horror
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: Seven Deadly Sins: Settling the Argument Between Born Bad and Damaged Good, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven, You're Making Me Hate You: A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense Left

three-stars

In a nightmarish world, the Human finds himself at a crossroads as wild adventure ensues and he's thrust into a morphing landscape of rolling hills, dense forest, and an ominous Crimson City. Chased by a crazed mob and mysterious characters neither friend nor foe, the Human takes an unexpected journey that will lead to his salvation... or damnation. Stone Sour/Slipknot singer Corey Taylor has written this graphic novel to accompany the narrative of Stone Sour's two House of Gold & Bones albums!

Image result for House of Gold & Bones part 1

House of Gold & Bones is the complete collection of the four-volume comics that coincided with the release of Stone Sour’s double disc release of the same name. It tells the tale of a Human that finds himself in a world of horror with no clear way out.

Being a huge fan of both of Corey Taylor’s non-fiction novels and of  Stone Sour’s House of Gold & Bones albums it was too intriguing a concept to pass up. The majority of the illustrations had a raw and unpolished feel and the story itself was a world of fantasy and horror. I loved the creativity behind this and his vision as a whole and would love to see what other concepts he comes up with. A definite for fans of Corey Taylor and Stone Sour.

Divider

Book Review – The Gremlins by Roald Dahl

October 15, 2011 Bonnie Book Reviews, Middle Grade, Read in 2011 0 Comments

Book Review – The Gremlins by Roald DahlThe Gremlins by Roald Dahl
Published by Dark Horse on September 12th 2006 (first published 1943)
Pages: 56
Genres: Historical Fiction, Kiddie Books
Format: eBook
Source: Freebie
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Witches

five-stars

The story of the The Gremlins concerns the mischievous mythical creatures of the title, often invoked by Royal Air Force pilots as an explanation of mechanical troubles and mishaps. In Dahl's book, the gremlins' motivation for sabotaging British aircraft is revenge of the destruction of their forest home, which was razed to make way for an aircraft factory. The principal character in the book, Gus, has his Hawker Hurricane fighter destroyed over the English Channel by a gremlin, but is able to convince the gremlins as they parachute into the water that they should join forces against a common enemy, Hitler and the Nazis, rather than fight each other. Source: Wikipedia

With full-page color illustrations and with several black and white illustrations by the Disney artists throughout.

This was Roald Dahl's first book and preceded the British publication by several months. The story was optioned by Disney and was intended to be made into an animated film, but it was never produced. A note on the copyright page states: "The RAF Benevolent Fund will receive the author's share of the proceeds from the sale of this book." Dahl's next children's book, James and the Giant Peach, published eighteen years later.

“In this most beautiful green wood there lived a tribe of funny little people who were quite different from the rest. They had funny horns growing out of their funny heads and funny boots on their funny feet, and with these boots – and this was funniest of all – they could walk upside down under the branches of the trees. Oh, it was a happy and peaceful life that these little men led – until the humans came.”

And so begins the story of the Gremlins who were torn from their homes when the humans decided to build a factory for airplane production. The Gremlins knew it was time to act and ‘to get revenge for the loss of our homes. We will make mischief for them, and we will harry and tease the men who fly them, until we obtain some satisfaction for all the harm that has been done to us.

The pilots finally figured out a way to appease these pesky Gremlins: feeding them Transatlantic-special-deliver-airmail stamps. By feeding them this delicacy, they were finally able to talk to the Gremlins and explain why they tore down their home and that it was to save their homes from all being destroyed. The pilot asked the Gremlins to help and that if they assisted and were victorious that they would give them a patch of forest back to them to be their new home.

Interesting Facts
This was actually the very first children’s book that Roald Dahl ever wrote. ‘The Gremlins’ is a story set in the 1940’s when we were in the midst of WWII. This story was originally meant to be a film by Walt Disney but was dropped and never completed but the book was still published. This is considered to be a quite rare book as fewer than 5,000 books were published worldwide.

Thoughts
This was an adorable book that I stumbled upon. Highly recommended to anyone given the opportunity to read it!

Divider