Series: Kara Gillian

Waiting on Wednesday – Fury of the Demon (Kara Gillian #6) by Diana Rowland

October 9, 2013 Bonnie Adult, Waiting on Wednesday 4 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – Fury of the Demon (Kara Gillian #6) by Diana RowlandFury of the Demon by Diana Rowland
Published by DAW on January 7th 2014
Pages: 484
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: My Life As a White Trash Zombie, Mark of the Demon, Blood of the Demon

Demon summoner Kara Gillian bears the scars of Rhyzkahl’s treachery, but she refuses to let them slow her down. She and the demonic lord Mzatal have not rested in their efforts to recover Idris—Mzatal’s summoner protégé who was kidnapped by enemy lords—but now their search has brought them back to Earth.

With the help of FBI agents Ryan Kristoff and Zack Garner, they begin to track down summoners who are working with Rhyzkahl. However, Kara knows Ryan’s true identity, and questions of loyalty threaten  tear apart this group of allies. When Kara intervenes to help a brilliant young computer expert and his bodyguard after an accidental shooting, she quickly learns that Rhyzkahl’s machinations run deeper than she could have ever imagined. The search for Idris takes on a desperate edge as their enemies increase in number, and Kara realizes that an old homicide case may hold the key to their success—or their doom.

With the very fabric of the universe at stake, Kara must rely on her skills, wit, and luck to save her friends and her world, yet ancient vows will have to be broken if she is to have any hope.

But the price of breaking those vows may be her own blood.

YAY! Another Kara Gillian installment… one of my all-time favorite Urban Fantasy series. Always excited for more.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

Divider

Early Review – Touch of the Demon (Kara Gillian #5) by Diana Rowland

December 15, 2012 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Read in 2012 0 Comments

I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Review – Touch of the Demon (Kara Gillian #5) by Diana RowlandTouch of the Demon by Diana Rowland
Series: Kara Gillian #5
on December 31st 2012
Pages: 440
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Format: ARC
Source: the Publisher
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: My Life As a White Trash Zombie, Mark of the Demon, Blood of the Demon

four-half-stars

Kara Gillian is in some seriously deep trouble.

She’s used to summoning supernatural creatures from the demon realm to our world, but now the tables have been turned and she’s the one who’s been summoned. Kara is the prisoner of yet another demonic lord, but she quickly discovers that she’s far more than a mere hostage. Yet waiting for rescue has never been her style, and Kara has no intention of being a pawn in someone else’s game.

There’s intrigue to spare as she digs into the origin of the demonic lords and discovers the machinations of humans and demons alike. Kara is shocked to discover that she has her own history in the demon realm, and that the ties between her and the demonic lords Rhyzkahl and Szerain go back farther than she could have ever imagined. But treachery runs rampant among all the lords, and she’s going to have to stay sharp in order to keep from being used to further their own agendas. The lords have a secret that dates back to earth’s ancient history, and it could have devastating repercussions for both worlds.

Yet more than anything else, Kara’s abilities as a homicide detective will be put to the test—because this time the murder she has to solve is her own.

Kara Gillian series

Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #1) {Purchase – My Review}
Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #2) {Purchase – My Review}
Secrets of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #3) {Purchase – My Review}
Sins of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #4) {Purchase – My Review}

Diana Rowland’s Kara Gillian series has been a favorite of mine from the very beginning, but with ‘Touch of the Demon’ she’s truly taken this series to a whole new level and as Kara is so fond of saying, “Shit just got real.” ‘Touch of the Demon’ truly mixed things up and allowed this series to remain outstanding for many more installments.

Touch of the Demon picks up right where the last one left off with that dreaded cliffhanger that I think had us all pulling our hair out. Kara finds herself in the demon realm and she’s being held against her will by the demonic Lord Mzatal. Unclear as to why he’s keeping her but positive that it’s not for anything good she finally manages to escape and get to Rhyzkahl but she finds herself in any even worse situation. It’s a complex story that has Kara spinning in confusion trying to figure out how to get out of this situation and finally get home, to Earth.

The best part of this story was the imagery Diana created. Her depictions of the demon realm were meticulous allowing you to visualize it completely. From details of the palaces she stayed in to the trees to the various different demons that she had never encountered before. Each additional detail really added something distinctive to making this story highly creative. There are so much more that could be said but there were so many intricate aspects to this story-line that each detail is essentially a part of the spoiler… and I would hate to ruin this for anyone. If you’ve been a fan of this series though, you will definitely love this one.

Touch of the Demon is hands down the darkest, grittiest installment yet, and it was absolutely fantastic. The cliffhanger lacking ending was music to my ears and still managed to set in motion potentially awesome storylines. I can’t wait to see where Diana Rowland takes us next on this brilliant endeavor!

Divider

Book Review – Sins of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #4) by Diana Rowland

January 5, 2012 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2012 1 Comment

Book Review – Sins of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #4) by Diana RowlandSins of the Demon by Diana Rowland
Series: Kara Gillian #4
Published by DAW on January 3rd 2012
Pages: 320
Genres: Romance, Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: My Life As a White Trash Zombie, Mark of the Demon, Blood of the Demon

four-stars

 

The homicide beat in Louisiana isn't just terrifying, it's demonic. Detective Kara Gilligan of the supernatural task force has the ability to summon demons to her aid, but she herself is pledged to serve a demonic lord. And now, people who've hurt Kara in the past are dropping dead for no apparent reason. To clear her name and save both the demon and human worlds, she's in a race against the clock and in a battle for her life that just may take her to hell and back.

 

 

Kara Gillian series

Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #1)Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #2)Secrets of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #3)

Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian #1) by Diana Rowland {PurchaseMy Review}
Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian #2) by Diana Rowland {PurchaseMy Review}
Secrets of the Demon (Kara Gillian #3) by Diana Rowland {PurchaseMy Review}

Final Page Thoughts

*ahem* Excuse the language, but what the HELL kind of ending was that?! No, I’m sorry, that wasn’t an ending… that was more like a chapter ending, except my book must have been missing the subsequent pages. AHHH! What a cliffhanger. And now we have to wait a whole YEAR!? Is it available for pre-order yet?? Someone shoot me now. *Sobs*

Something that’s been ongoing in this series for a while, a bit of an issue with Kara, is resolved but not until the very flipping end of the book which made that ending that much worse but still made you happy that it nonetheless happened. Yes, I’m aware that sentence makes absolutely no sense.

I’ve attempted to collect my thoughts and form them into a worthwhile review without giving too much away. I do believe worthwhile should be replaced with ‘I’m going to ramble and forget to use periods occasionally so don’t mind me’.

The Storyline

The fourth installation in the Kara Gillian has finally arrived. Kara’s back and trouble seems to be finding her at every turn… but then again, what else is new? She’s dealing with her complicated relationship with Rhyzkahl and Ryan, people are dying who she personally knows and who she also has personally grudges with, someone is attempting to summon her to the demon realm, and on top of that her emotions are going straight haywire.

New Characters

I find that the further you delve into a series it’s usually a requirement to add in new characters to keep it fresh and new. Usually these characters end up being written in as useless characters that are easily disposed of. The few characters (mainly one) added into ‘Sins of the Demon’ were so well written and established in the story that I couldn’t remember a time when they weren’t a part of the story.

Eilahn is Kara’s demon bodyguard and roommate, put in place by Rhyzkahl when he realized that someone was attempting to summon her to the demon realm. Eilahn was hilarious and her sense of humor went extremely well with Kara’s normal snarkiness. (Is that not a word? My red squiggle tells me not, but it should be.)

Fuzzykins: Eilahn’s accidental cat. The presence of Fuzzykins led to some bust a gut with tears in eyes laughter. I think the scene that had to be my absolute favorite was the cat’s obvious dislike of Kara (and obvious love of Eilahn) when they were getting him in the car and the cat gives Kara a ’fuck you glare accompanied by a I-want-to-claw-your-face-off-hiss.’

“I do not wish her to grow upset,” Eilahn said, frown puckering her forehead. “I have heard that cats do not care to ride in cars. If I am in the front and she in the back, will she not grow distraught? Perhaps I should hold her in my lap.”
“Um, that’s a pretty darn big carrier to hold on your lap,” I pointed out.
She blinked. “I did not intend to have her in the carrier. Why can I not simply hodl her in my lap so that I can stroke her fur? Will that not calm her?”
I had a vision of a psychotic cat careening around the inside of the car – following by an image of my mangled death in the ensuing wreck.
“No,” I stated. Firmly.

Hahaha… Funny times.

So… I don’t believe I can say much more without giving anything away. This wasn’t a disappointing book at all and I still recommend this series highly. I’ve become a rabid Kara Gillan/Diana Rowland fan and I’m impatient as hell and the next book could not come sooner.

Divider

Book Review – Secrets of the Demon (Kara Gillian #3) by Diana Rowland

July 18, 2011 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2011 3 Comments

Book Review – Secrets of the Demon (Kara Gillian #3) by Diana RowlandSecrets of the Demon by Diana Rowland
Series: Kara Gillian #3
Published by DAW on January 4th 2011
Pages: 320
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: My Life As a White Trash Zombie, Mark of the Demon, Blood of the Demon

four-stars

Homicide detective Kara Gillian has a special talent: she can sense the "arcane" in our world, and there's quite a bit of it, even in Beaulac, Louisiana. She's also a summoner of demons, and works on a task force that deals with supernatural crimes. Her partners are attractive and smart FBI agents, but they're not summoners, and they're not telling Kara why they are on this special force with her.

TO make things worse, Kara has pledged herself to one of the most powerful of demons-a Demon Lord-who helped save her partner's life, but now expects things in return. Meanwhile, she's trying to solve a string of murders that are somehow tied together by money, sex, rock music and...mud. But how can she concentrate on the case when she's not even sure who-or what-her partners are?

Kara Gillian series

Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #1)Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #2)

Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian #1) by Diana Rowland {PurchaseMy Review}
Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian #2) by Diana Rowland {PurchaseMy Review}

Yes, I really did just read all 3 books in this series in a row. Yes, they were all amazing. Yes, I am now going absolutely crazy because I have to wait until JANUARY for the next book. I don’t know why I do these things to myself.

As I stated above, ‘Secrets of the Demon’ this is the third installment in the fabulousness called the Kara Gillian series. I would not recommend reading this review if you have not read books 1 and 2. Unless you don’t plan on reading this series, which is the silliest thing I’ve ever heard, but… if you don’t plan on reading the series then feel free to read potential spoilers.

This story starts picks up a few months after the end of Blood of the Demon. Kara is pledged to Rhyzkahl, the most powerful Demon Lord, to be his summoner where she is required to summon him at least once a month for 3 years. She’s already completed approximately 3 months of her service to him at this point. Rhyzkahl has always thrown me a bit with the descriptions of him. Now see, when I read that he’s a ‘Demon Lord’, I don’t know about you but I think of something along the lines of:

But then that’s where Diana Rowland throws a curve ball. “He shook his white blond hair back to send it rippling in a perfect silken fall down his back.” You see, he looks like a human. But ever since she introduced him with his ‘white blond hair that rippled down his back’ I can’t help picturing this guy:

And it drives me absolutely bonkers. Because I don’t actually like him. But whatever, my problem.

Then there’s Ryan, the other man in Kara’s life. Ryan… or now known from the last book as a kiraknikahl, or oathbreaker. Oathbreaker sounds much better since I have no idea how on earth that first term is pronounced. Kara has as of yet been unable to determine what an oathbreaker is but more is revealed in this book. If you’ve been irritated like me and just want to know what the hell he is… you’ll be rewarded with this installment. Although I will say, it was nice that the readers were given bit by bit prior to the big reveal rather than figuring it out right off the bat. Love me a little bit of mystery.

Speaking of Ryan… or Ryan and Kara’s relationship/friendship. *sigh* REALLY?? As I said in my review of book 2, these two really just need to get over themselves, admit they have feelings for each other, and stop acting like junior high kids. They would be much happier together. I would be much happier too. Although I will say, it’s nice to see a pair of characters that actually have to work at their relationships and overcome various obstacles rather. I think it’ll make their future relationship (if that ever happens) very real to me.

Yet another fabulous book from Diana Rowland. I will be recommending her Kara Gilliand series to anyone who will listen to me. I will wait patiently sullenly for Sins of the Demon.

Divider

Book Review – Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian #2) by Diana Rowland

July 16, 2011 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2011 0 Comments

Book Review – Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian #2) by Diana RowlandBlood of the Demon by Diana Rowland
Series: Kara Gillian #2
Published by DAW on February 17, 2010
Pages: 386
Genres: Romance, Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: My Life As a White Trash Zombie, Mark of the Demon, Secrets of the Demon

four-stars

BETWEEN HEAVEN AND HELL, MAN AND DEMON, SHE’S ABOUT TO FACE THE ONE THING SHE MAY NOT BE ABLE TO SURVIVE.

Welcome to the world of Kara Gillian, a cop with a gift. Not only does she have the power of “othersight” to see what most people can’t even imagine, but she’s become the exclusive summoner of a demon lord. Or maybe it’s the other way around. The fact is, with two troublesome cases on her docket and a handsome FBI agent under her skin, Kara needs the help of sexy, insatiable Lord Rhyzkahl more than he needs her. Because these two victims, linked by suspicious coincidence, haven’t just been murdered. Something has eaten their souls.

It’s a case with roots in the arcane, but whose evil has flowered among the rich, powerful, and corrupt in Beaulac, Louisiana. And as the killings continue, Kara soon realizes how much there’s still to learn about demons, men, and things that kill in the night—and how little time she has to learn it.

Kara Gillian series

Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian, #1)

Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian #1) by Diana Rowland {PurchaseMy Review}

The second installation in the Kara Gillian series made me just as excitable as the first. I absolutely love love love this series. Did I mention I love this series? I don’t know WHAT it is about this series but I love absolutely everything about it. This is me, reading this series:

In ‘Blood of the Demon’ Kara is investigating a series of suicides where the individuals essence wasn’t released from their body the way a normal death would; their essence appeared to have been ripped forcibly from their body and Kara can’t figure out why or who could have done this. Rhyzkahl has requested that Kara be his ‘summoner’ where she would have access to his power and knowledge, she would just be required to summon him often. Kara begins realizing that there is in fact more than meets the eye with Ryan; but he’s not being as forth coming with information as she would like him to be. Kara’s Aunt Tessa remains in a coma as a result of the Symbol Man’s last summoning with her essence seemingly lost. Without her Aunt, Kara is left to learn on her own and it’s really awesome to see her grow as a summoner in this book.

The one irritating factor I had with the book which resulted in the 4 stars (since I still really liked it) was the Ryan and Kara relationship. I have wanted Ryan and Kara to be together from the very beginning. I LOVE those two. So. This is an adult novel; however, when Kara denies the fact that Ryan likes her, when Kara gets jealous at Ryan for lame ass things, or when Ryan does something but Kara justifies it in her mind as him being ‘just a friend’, I feel as if I’ve stepped into a Young Adult novel. And trust me; if I wanted to read a YA novel type relationship I’ve got plenty of books to satisfy that. But here I am reading a nice Adult novel and I feel like I’ve stepped into the YA Twilight Zone.

The ending? Ah! It made me go all ‘OMG Excited Cat’ all over again. Anyways, bottom line. You need to read this. I HIGHLY recommend it. It’s totally awesome and… well I love it. 😀

Divider

Short & Sweet – Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian #1) by Diana Rowland

July 16, 2011 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2011, Short & Sweet Reviews 2 Comments

Short & Sweet – Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian #1) by Diana RowlandMark of the Demon by Diana Rowland
Series: Kara Gillian #1
Published by DAW on June 17, 2009
Pages: 386
Genres: Detective, Romance, Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: My Life As a White Trash Zombie, Blood of the Demon, Secrets of the Demon

five-stars

Cop and conjurer of demons, she's a woman in danger of losing control—to a power that could kill....

Why me? Why now? That’s what Beaulac, Louisiana, detective Kara Gillian was asking herself when an angelic creature named Rhyzkahl unexpectedly appeared during a routine summoning. Kara was hoping to use her occult skills to catch a serial killer, but never had she conjured anything like this unearthly beautiful and unspeakably powerful being whose very touch set off exquisite new dimensions of pleasure. But can she enlist his aid in helping her stop a killer who’s already claimed the lives—and souls—of thirteen people? And should she? The Symbol Man is a nightmare that the city thought had ended three years ago. Now he’s back for an encore and leaving every indication on the flesh of his victims that he, too, is well versed in demonic lore.

Kara may be the only cop on Beaulac’s small force able to stop the killer, but it is her first homicide case. Yet with Rhyzkahl haunting her dreams, and a handsome yet disapproving FBI agent dogging her waking footsteps, she may be in way over her head...

‘Mark of the Demon’ is the first in Diana Rowland’s Kara Gillian Series. Kara Gillian is a newbie Detective in small town Beaulac, Louisiana. She’s also a skilled summoner of demons who uses her occult skills in her cases. She’s put in charge of a case of recent murders that appear to be the same killer, The Symbol Man, who killed 13 people but hadn’t killed anyone in over 3 years. All of the victims show evidence of being killed for demonic purposes so Kara attempts to summon a demon to assist her but ends up summoning something else: a powerful Demonic Lord, Rhyzkahl.

I am SO glad that I decided to read this series. For those of you who don’t know, I started out a huge mystery/thriller fan and that’s about all I read. Then I discovered urban fantasy and realized I loved that as well. Well this series combined by two favorites. This had demons, crazy serial killers, hot cops, crazy CSI shit, and a demonic lord to boot… right up my alley. I don’t typically read back to back books in a series, I like to mix it up a bit every now and then, but I’m going straight to book number 2.

Divider