Series: Paradox

Early Review – Heaven’s Queen (Paradox #3) by Rachel Bach

April 18, 2014 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Read in 2014 6 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Review – Heaven’s Queen (Paradox #3) by Rachel BachHeaven's Queen by Rachel Bach
Series: Paradox #3
Published by Orbit on April 22, 2014
Pages: 400
Genres: Romance, Sci-fi
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Fortune's Pawn, Honor's Knight

three-stars

From the moment she took a job on Captain Caldswell's doomed ship, Devi Morris' life has been one disaster after another: government conspiracies, two alien races out for her blood, an incurable virus that's eating her alive.

Now, with the captain missing and everyone -- even her own government -- determined to hunt her down, things are going from bad to impossible. The sensible plan would be to hide and wait for things to blow over, but Devi's never been one to shy from a fight, and she's getting mighty sick of running.
It's time to put this crisis on her terms and do what she knows is right. But with all human life hanging on her actions, the price of taking a stand might be more than she can pay.

Paradox series

Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1) {PurchaseMy Review}
Honor’s Knight (Paradox #2) {PurchaseMy Review}

“The universe is infinite and strange. We cannot predict, only marvel at what it creates.”

Devi Morris’ decision to sign up for a job on a trade ship has led her into the very heart of a battle where entire worlds are destroyed and she’s the only one that can put an end to it. While this is quite possibly the worst situation she’s ever found herself in, Devi has never shied away from anything and isn’t backing down now.

So, unfortunately this another series ending on a low note for me. But there’s good and bad so I’m going to start with the good. Rachel Bach has created a fascinating world here that is full of action and adventure and all around badassery. The action isn’t consistent in this installment and is for the most part relegated to the latter half of the book but they were action scenes that ended up being well worth the wait.

As far as the bad bits, I had a real issue with the romance in this installment which pains me to say as I loved how it had been handled up until now. Devi and Rupert are an amazing pair yet their romance/love has never gotten in the way of plot or changed Devi’s badass-ness in any way. In Heaven’s Queen there is so much freaking time spent on discussing and thinking about their relationship problems and trying to fix them. Granted, I appreciate the time spent on making their make-up legit and not allowing Devi to immediately accept apologies, everything becoming hunky dory instantly, but I wouldn’t hesitate to say this installment was 80% relationship drama and 20% plot wrap up. There was too damn much awesome space stuff and world ending shit going on that should have been in the spotlight. I love me so Devi and Rupert but good grief, enough is enough.

There was also the issue of Anthony. At the beginning of this book, Devi realizes that her and Rupert lost time in hyperspace. Like, a years worth of time. Anthony is one of the only people Devi stays in touch with so when she goes missing and searching leads to nothing she’s eventually declared dead. Considering Anthony and Devi were in a quasi-relationship for 7 years or so I would imagine this would be a big deal to him. When he finds out that she’s actually alive he sets out to get her immediately, finds her with Rupert and in the biggest dick move of all she tells him he wasted his time coming for her and to basically fuck off. It wasn’t just bitchy it was cruel because she knew exactly what his feelings for her were. She didn’t have to reciprocate but she could have been a little more considerate.

Heaven’s Queen still managed to serve as a satisfactory conclusion, wrapping up all loose ends, but I couldn’t help but feel disappointed after how truly amazing Fortune’s Pawn was. Devi will definitely go down in my personal record books as one of my all-time favorite heroines though and I look forward to picking up other works from Rachel Bach/Rachel Aaron.

Divider

Waiting on Wednesday – Heaven’s Queen (Paradox #3) by Rachel Bach

February 19, 2014 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday 3 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – Heaven’s Queen (Paradox #3) by Rachel BachHeaven's Queen by Rachel Bach
Series: Paradox #3
Published by Orbit on April 22nd 2014
Pages: 400
Genres: Romance, Sci-fi
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Fortune's Pawn, Honor's Knight, Heaven's Queen

From the moment she took a job on Captain Caldswell's doomed ship, Devi Morris' life has been one disaster after another: government conspiracies, two alien races out for her blood, an incurable virus that's eating her alive.

Now, with the captain missing and everyone -- even her own government -- determined to hunt her down, things are going from bad to impossible. The sensible plan would be to hide and wait for things to blow over, but Devi's never been one to shy from a fight, and she's getting mighty sick of running.

It's time to put this crisis on her terms and do what she knows is right. But with all human life hanging on her actions, the price of taking a stand might be more than she can pay.

About Rachel Bach

Rachel Bach grew up wanting to be an author and a super villain. Unfortunately, super villainy proved surprisingly difficult to break into, so she stuck to writing and everything worked out great. She currently lives in Athens, GA with her perpetual energy toddler, extremely understanding husband, overflowing library, and obese wiener dog. You can find out more about Rachel and all her books at rachelbach.net.

Rachel also writes fantasy under the name Rachel Aaron.

OHMIGOSH I NEED THIS BOOK LIKE I NEED AIR.

Yes, that’s very dramatic. No, I’m not kidding. I read book one and two back to back and Devi quickly became one of my all-time favorite heroines. She’s a total badass and I cannot wait to read this much anticipated conclusion!

WELL. Have you read Fortune’s Pawn? Why the hell not? *ahem* I mean, it’s amazing, you really should!

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine

Divider

Early Review – Honor’s Knight (Paradox #2) by Rachel Bach

February 7, 2014 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Read in 2014 10 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Review – Honor’s Knight (Paradox #2) by Rachel BachHonor's Knight by Rachel Bach
Series: Paradox #2
Published by Orbit on February 25th 2014
Pages: 374
Genres: Romance, Sci-fi
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Fortune's Pawn, Heaven's Queen

four-stars

The rollicking sequel to Fortune's Pawn -- an action packed science fiction novel.

Devi Morris has a lot of problems. And not the fun, easy-to-shoot kind either.

After a mysterious attack left her short several memories and one partner, she's determined to keep her head down, do her job, and get on with her life. But even though Devi's not actually looking for it -- trouble keeps finding her. She sees things no one else can, the black stain on her hands is growing, and she is entangled with the cook she's supposed to hate.

But when a deadly crisis exposes far more of the truth than she bargained for, Devi discovers there's worse fates than being shot, and sometimes the only people you can trust are the ones who want you dead.

Paradox Series

Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox, #1) {PurchaseMy Review}

In the final moments of Fortune’s Pawn, Devi discovers that Caldswell is not all that he appears to be and is actually a leader of the organization known as The Eyes, which are responsible for ridding the solar system of planet destroying phantoms that no one is aware of. Except she doesn’t remember anything because Caldswell performed a memory wipe on her and not only does she not know who he truly is but now every time she looks at Rupert she develops an unreasonable repulsion towards him. Intent on moving on from the attack that took her memories, she begins to focus solely on her job again but problems continue to arise. The glowing bugs that no one else can still and the mysterious dark stain that spreads across her body are issues but it’s becoming more and more clear that she doesn’t have a single person she can trust anymore.

Much of Honor’s Knight is spent in a state of confusion as Devi attempts to recall recent memories that constantly evade her. Despite her mental handicap, Devi never fails to be as fearless as we’ve come to expect from her, even more so when she’s struggling for her very own survival. It seemed like there were fewer action scenes than in Fortune’s Pawn as there was slightly more focus on world-building but the action we did see was still fierce and explosive making for yet another incredibly intense read. What I touted about Fortune’s Pawn being sci-fi lite wasn’t exactly the case with Honor’s Knight. However, by this point I’m so immersed in this world and completely fascinated by Devi that I really enjoyed the added details and the expansion that went on in this installment.

The revelations are non-stop in this incredibly exciting second installment in the Paradox series. You won’t find a hint of middle book syndrome, nor as brutal of a cliffhanger as the one in Fortune’s Pawn, but you’ll definitely be left antsy for the final installment.

Divider

Book Review – Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1) by Rachel Bach

January 3, 2014 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Read in 2013 20 Comments

I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review – Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1) by Rachel BachFortune's Pawn by Rachel Bach
Series: Paradox #1
Published by Orbit on November 5th 2013
Pages: 352
Genres: Romance, Sci-fi
Format: Paperback
Source: the Publisher
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Honor's Knight, Heaven's Queen

five-stars

Devi Morris isn't your average mercenary. She has plans. Big ones. And a ton of ambition. It's a combination that's going to get her killed one day - but not just yet.

That is, until she just gets a job on a tiny trade ship with a nasty reputation for surprises. The Glorious Fool isn't misnamed: it likes to get into trouble, so much so that one year of security work under its captain is equal to five years everywhere else. With odds like that, Devi knows she's found the perfect way to get the jump on the next part of her Plan. But the Fool doesn't give up its secrets without a fight, and one year on this ship might be more than even Devi can handle.
If Sigouney Weaver in Alien met Starbuck in Battlestar Galactica, you'd get Deviana Morris -- a hot new mercenary earning her stripes to join an elite fighting force. Until one alien bite throws her whole future into jeopardy.

So my reading sci-fi is completely out of character and if it wasn’t for the recommendations of trusted individuals I never would have picked this up. Regardless of this being set completely in space, this is definitely what I would consider sci-fi-lite. The world building is sufficient enough without boggling my mind with excessive detailing which I appreciated. Fortune’s Pawn was absolutely fantastic though. I can’t remember the last book I read that was so freaking exciting, and I don’t say that lightly. It was so thrilling my mouth was hanging open in several scenes, I was flipping pages at lightning speed and I made sure to limit my blinking so as to not miss out on precious reading time. You know that moment in a relationship where you can look back and remember when you fell in love? I remember the exact moment I fell in love with this book and how I got so damn excited I put the book down and yelled:

I wish I was exaggerating. My fiance looked at me like I was a complete nutter.

The battle scenes were thoroughly exhilarating and the absolute best part of this book but this book would be nothing without Devi Morris. She’s a mercenary and a total badass but she’s far from perfect. She makes silly decisions because of love but they’re all credible and realistic decisions. At no point did she turn into some weak-willed chick just because she had a crush and I’m so very thankful that the romance didn’t completely overpower the story. It was the perfect balance. And speaking of Rupert…

I don’t care if his name is funny, Rupert is fabulous. He’s a total badass just like Devi but he’s much more subtle about it; less flashy. Their romance is blended well with the story and mystery so it didn’t fell like yet another unnecessary romance showing up when it never should have been invited. When I think back, they fell for each other pretty quick it seemed but the feelings of insta-love weren’t there for me (*phew*). There was some major relationship drama going on though, a constant push and pull between them. “I love you! But I can’t, I’m dangerous. Oh, but I love you! I have no self control!” If I hadn’t been so completely enthralled I would’ve been raising my eyebrow at this. It’s not revealed the details as to why he’s so dangerous so I’m hoping his secrets and “danger” better be really freaking dangerous to justify this dramatic time wasting nonsense because those two are pretty fabulous together.

One more lovely thing about this story that’s worth mentioning is the fabulous secondary characters. Hyrek is the ships doctor who is also a xith’cal, an alien race, and he’s got a super snarky sense of humor I immediately loved. There is Devi’s partner Cotter who was a big meathead that was always good for a laugh, Caldswell is the mysterious captain with a bucketful of secrets and Devi’s roommate Nova who totally reminded me of Luna Lovegood. It was a wonderful cast of characters.

There have been comparisons to Firefly, Alien and even Battlestar Gallactica. Well, I suck and haven’t seen a single one of those (I TOLD YOU I don’t do sci-fi) but the one thing I can compare it to is Ann Aguirre’s ‘Sirantha Jax’ series. Devi reminded me a lot of Sirantha (but Devi quite a bit more of a badass) and the storyline was much more thrilling, so if you enjoyed that series you’ll absolutely love this. Suffice to say, this is going on my best of 2013 list and I’m immediately starting book two. Boy am I so very fortunate to have it available. Upon completion I felt like running around flailing my arms like a crazy person so I hope my thoughts came out in a sensible manner. Read this book, people.

Divider