Series: The Iron Fey

Book Review – The Iron Knight (The Iron Fey #4) by Julie Kagawa

March 12, 2012 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2012, YA 0 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review – The Iron Knight (The Iron Fey #4) by Julie KagawaThe Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa
Series: The Iron Fey #4
Published by Harlequin Teen on October 25, 2011
Pages: 400
Genres: Fantasy, Romance
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Iron King, Winter's Passage, The Iron Daughter

three-half-stars

My name—my True Name—is Ashallayn'darkmyr Tallyn. I am the last remaining son of Mab, Queen of the Unseelie Court. And I am dead to her. My fall began, as many stories do, with a girl…

To cold faery prince Ash, love was a weakness for mortals and fools. His own love had died a horrible death, killing any gentler feelings the Winter prince might have had. Or so he thought.

Then Meghan Chase—a half human, half fey slip of a girl—smashed through his barricades, binding him to her irrevocably with his oath to be her knight. And when all of Faery nearly fell to the Iron fey, she severed their bond to save his life. Meghan is now the Iron Queen, ruler of a realm where no Winter or Summer fey can survive.

With the unwelcome company of his archrival, Summer Court prankster Puck, and the infuriating cait sith Grimalkin, Ash begins a journey he is bound to see through to its end—a quest to find a way to honor his vow to stand by Meghan's side.

To survive in the Iron Realm, Ash must have a soul and a mortal body. But the tests he must face to earn these things are impossible. And along the way Ash learns something that changes everything. A truth that challenges his darkest beliefs and shows him that, sometimes, it takes more than courage to make the ultimate sacrifice.

The Iron Fey series

The Iron King (The Iron Fey, #1)Winter's Passage (Iron Fey, #1.5)The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey, #2)

The Iron King (The Iron Fey #1)
Winter’s Passage (The Iron Fey #1.5)
The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey #2)

The Iron Queen (The Iron Fey, #3)Summer's Crossing (Iron Fey, #3.5)

The Iron Queen (The Iron Fey #3)
Summer’s Crossing (The Iron Fey #3.5)

“My fall began, as many stories do, with a girl.”

In the Iron Queen, Ash made an oath to Meghan to be her knight; however, after she became the Iron Queen and she severed the bond with him he was unable to honor the oath since remaining in the Iron realm would have meant his death. Ash realizes that he has only one choice: he’s going to travel to the end of the world to obtain a soul and become mortal so he can remain by her side.

After wrapping up Iron Queen and dubbing it my favorite of the series, I was actually kind of surprised that there was an additional installment in the series; I felt it could have been left as is despite its imperfect ending. The puzzle pieces of this series came together a bit too well in The Iron Knight; however, it was still an enjoyable read.

In this story we got to travel to the end of the Nevernever. The River of Dreams, the Deep Wyld, Phaed… all unknown territory which added some much needed mystery to the story and which I really enjoyed. Julie Kagawa’s descriptions were extremely vivid. Puck, Grimalkin, and even the Big Bad Wolf were along for the ride. Puck and Grimalkin definitely added some much needed humor to Ash’s dreary story.

I think die-hard fans of this series will be extremely pleased with how the author wrapped up this series, but will still be sad that the story is over. I think the wrap-up was done enjoyably well and I’m thankful that it wasn’t stretched to its breaking point with additional and unnecessary installments.

Divider

Book Review – The Iron Daughter (Iron Fey #2) by Julie Kagawa

October 24, 2011 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2011, YA 0 Comments

Book Review – The Iron Daughter (Iron Fey #2) by Julie KagawaThe Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa
Series: The Iron Fey #2
Published by Harlequin Teen on August 1st 2010
Pages: 361
Genres: Fantasy, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Iron King, Winter's Passage, The Iron Knight

two-stars

Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey - ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.

Worse, Meghan's own fey powers have been cut off. She's stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can't help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

I really feel like I’m missing something with this series. I started reading it based solely off the declarations of love and whatnot and I’ve since become sorely disappointed.

The Storyline
In The Iron Daughter, Meghan has become the prisoner of Queen Mab the Winter Faery Queen. After Meghan witnesses the death of Queen Mab’s son by the hands of the Iron Fey she once again gets entangled in that drama. Meghan and a few friends set off in search of the Iron Fey where all kinds of predictable fun is in store for them.

The ‘Romance’
Is there some manual out there for aspiring YA writers? Is there a requirement listed that in order for a YA book to be successful there must be a love triangle? I don’t know who started it (My hunch? It’s all Twilight’s fault) but the idea that love triangles are fun, exciting, and makes a book all sorts of romantical is so so wrong. But I’m not picking sides! I’m going to go a complete different route.

Team Grimalkin! One bad ass kitty cat. Even though he is kind of a shit.

Bottom Line
I feel so entwined in this series that I feel I must continue, but I can’t promise I won’t complain the entire time. Meghan’s character is the WHINIEST person I have ever had the unfortunate opportunity to read about. I understand she’s like 17 or something but COME ON. Between the constant whining and crying about Ash, and the whining and crying about Puck, and not having powers, and wanting to go back to high school, wanting to go home, some more whining about Ash… it really got old. I feel no connection with this main character and honestly? Somebody really needs to slap some sense into that girl. The ending was somewhat redeemable though… what with Meghan turning into kind-of a badass. I did say kind-of. I can only hope for more in the next book.

Divider

Short Story Review – Winter’s Passage (Iron Fey #1.5) by Julie Kagawa

July 16, 2011 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2011, Short Stories, YA 0 Comments

Short Story Review – Winter’s Passage (Iron Fey #1.5) by Julie KagawaWinter's Passage by Julie Kagawa
Series: The Iron Fey #1.5
Published by Harlequin Teen on May 20, 2010
Pages: 51
Genres: Fantasy, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Iron King, The Iron Daughter, The Iron Knight

three-stars

Meghan Chase used to be an ordinary girl... until she discovered that she is really a faery princess. After escaping from the clutches of the deadly Iron fey. Meghan must follow through on her promise to return to the equally dangerous Winter Court with her forbidden love, Prince Ash. But first, Meghan has one request: that they visit Puck - Meghan's best friend and servant of her father, King Oberon - who was gravely injured defending Meghan from the Iron Fey. Yet Meghan and Ash's detour does not go unnoticed. They have caught the attention of an ancient, powerful hunter - a foe that even Ash may not be able to defeat.

So this is a short quick little interlude between stories… there was a lot of reiteration of stuff that happened in the first book. If it’s been a while since you read Iron King (#1) then this would be a nice little refresher for you. I had just finished Iron King though so the reiteration was a little, well, repetitive. 🙂

This story is about Ash taking Meghan back to his Queen in accordance with their agreement and the introduction of yet another elusive creature following her; the Hunter (Or the self-proclaimed Wolf from Little Red Riding Hood. Yeah… okay. lol) Grimalkin joins them on their journey as well, and I don’t know why but I love Grim. Although when I envision the story as it progresses, I imagine Grimalkin looks like the white fluffy Fancy Feast cat for some reason. lol

Of course since Grim is supposed to be a ‘faery cat’ (whatever that means) I’m sure that’s not the case. But to me, that’s Grim. Grim and his Fancy Feast.

As far as Ash and Meghan go… as much as I love Ash, the storyline is getting old. Boy likes girl, girl likes boy… they’re not supposed to like each other, it’s not allowed, but they just can’t help it! So boy acts like he cares, but wait! Boy turns into a prick faster than a speeding bullet! Come on… *sigh* I’m still a sucker for these books and will keep reading this series. This mini-book actually made me more interested in the series overall so that works, mainly because I’m interested to see what happens once they actually reach the Winter Court and what all these weird dreams are all about.

Divider

Short and Sweet Review – The Iron King (Iron Fey #1) by Julie Kagawa

July 16, 2011 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2011, YA 0 Comments

Short and Sweet Review – The Iron King (Iron Fey #1) by Julie KagawaThe Iron King by Julie Kagawa
Series: The Iron Fey #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on January 26th 2010
Pages: 368
Genres: Fantasy, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Winter's Passage, The Iron Daughter, The Iron Knight

two-stars

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny--one she could never have imagined...

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school...or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth-- that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face...and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

The story is about Meghan Chase, a normal girl living in a small town with poor parents and her 4 year-old brother. Meghan discovers that she’s the daughter of a mythical faery king and of course gets involved in a faery war.

For some reason I couldn’t get into The Iron King no matter how hard I tried. It took me almost a week to read and for me that’s pretty much unheard of. I had heard such great things about this entire series and I was really looking forward to it but the storyline was just so-so. I loved the parts about Ash. I had heard everybody rave about Ash so I couldn’t wait for him to be introduced… unfortunately that didn’t even happen till almost halfway through the book. The story just lacked originality for me and I would like to continue the series, I just won’t be doing it immediately.

Divider