Series: The Wolves of Mercy Falls

Book Review – Sinner (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

November 14, 2014 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2014, YA 2 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review – Sinner (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #4) by Maggie StiefvaterSinner by Maggie Stiefvater
Series: The Wolves of Mercy Falls #4
Published by Scholastic Press on July 1st 2014
Pages: 373
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Werewolves
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: Shiver, Forever, The Raven Boys

two-half-stars

A standalone companion book to the internationally bestselling Shiver Trilogy.

Sinner follows Cole St. Clair, a pivotal character from the #1 New York Times bestselling Shiver Trilogy. Everybody thinks they know Cole's story. Stardom. Addiction. Downfall. Disappearance. But only a few people know Cole's darkest secret -- his ability to shift into a wolf. One of these people is Isabel. At one point, they may have even loved each other. But that feels like a lifetime ago. Now Cole is back. Back in the spotlight. Back in the danger zone. Back in Isabel's life. Can this sinner be saved?

The Wolves of Mercy Falls series

Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1) by Maggie Stiefvater {PurchaseReview}
Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #2) by Maggie Stiefvater {Purchase}
Forever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #3) by Maggie Stiefvater {PurchaseReview}

“I can’t change the way I’m made. I’m a performer, a singer, a werewolf, a sinner.”

In this new companion installment in the Wolves of Mercy Falls series, Cole St. Clair, the bad boy you can’t help but love, travels to Los Angeles to seek out Isabel for a fresh start and to jump-start his career with a new album. Cole signs on with an Internet reality TV producer (think TMZ) named Baby North who intends to tape his daily life in hopes of being able to get his anticipated relapse caught on tape.

‘It was the first time I’d really realized I’d lost my soul and that the beauty of not having a soul was that you couldn’t seem to care that you no longer had one.’

Sinner was a book that no one expected to ever exist. The Wolves of Mercy Falls series was completely and sufficiently wrapped up years ago, and if you’re of the same opinion as I, it never should have actually gone past book one. No installments following the first were anywhere close to the caliber of Shiver but they were still enjoyable enough and worth the read. Sinner is indeed a stand-alone/companion novel, and even though it has been years since I read the series I was able to quickly catch up following the brief backstory Stiefvater provides to get her readers up to speed. Cole and Isabel’s story and how it was left in Forever, while a bit open to interpretation and not given a concrete finish, didn’t exactly warrant an entire book. I believe the level of enjoyment of Sinner is going to be based solely on whether or not Cole and Isabel were personal favorites of yours from the series. Cole and Isabel’s story is finally given a solid conclusion, albeit a very neatly wrapped up one. Considering the two are quite a damaged duo, I wasn’t expecting that in the least. I also wasn’t expecting this story to involve more about the ‘hazards of fate’, what with Cole being on a reality show than about the romance between our two main characters. It was an interesting inclusion but not exactly a welcome one because it felt more superfluous than anything in an attempts to make this a full-length novel.

All in all, unfortunately, I think we could have done without this installment. I’ll always retain fond memories of Shiver though.

Divider

Book Review – Forever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

April 25, 2012 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2012, YA 1 Comment

Book Review – Forever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #3) by Maggie StiefvaterForever by Maggie Stiefvater
Series: The Wolves of Mercy Falls #3
on July 12, 2011
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Shiver, The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves

then.
When Sam met Grace, he was a wolf and she was a girl. Eventually he found a way to become a boy, and their loved moved from curious distance to the intense closeness of shared lives.

now.
That should have been the end of their story. But Grace was not meant to stay human. Now she is the wolf. And the wolves of Mercy Falls are about to be killed in one final, spectacular hunt.

forever.
Sam would do anything for Grace. But can one boy and one love really change a hostile, predatory world? The past, the present, and the future are about to collide in one pure moment - a moment of death or life, farewell or forever.

The Wolves of Mercy Falls series

Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #1)Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #2)

Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #2)

Forever: the final installment in the Wolves of Mercy Falls series and the final story of Grace and Sam.

Final Thoughts
Despite struggling profusely with this one there is no denying this was still a beautifully written story. Maggie’s writing appears flawless and effortless… the words simply flow.

The Bottom Line
As you can see by my rating, Forever didn’t leave me with the warm fuzzies I had after Linger and especially after Shiver. It was too jumbled for me and a bit lacking in overall focus. I think that this is primarily due to the multi-POVs that didn’t work for me this time around even though there were just about as many in Linger… it just made the story feel all over the place.

Too much time was spent focusing on Isabel and Cole when I desperately needed/wanted more about Grace and Sam. It also seemed like there was too much extra information being doled out that was distracting from the main storyline. Bottom line: it felt very forced.

The Romance
I didn’t feel the strong connection that I was used to between Grace and Sam (view spoiler) And I found it strange how Grace/Sam would be thinking about how much they loved him/her or how much they missed him/her when separated yet they never really showed it. I realize that it was done so in a way to show that they both know and understand each other so much that actions aren’t required but being a bit more vocal about it would have brought back the warm fuzzies for me. 🙂

Despite my issues, I’m still glad that I finally read these stories and experienced Maggie’s writing firsthand. Even though Grace and Sam’s story is officially over it will be hard to ever forget it.

‘And then I did laugh, even though the future was a dangerous place, because I loved her, and she loved me, and the world was beautiful.’

Divider

Book Review: Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

April 15, 2012 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2012, YA 4 Comments

Book Review: Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #2) by Maggie StiefvaterLinger Series: The Wolves of Mercy Falls #2
Published by Scholastic Press on July 13th 2010
Pages: 360
Genres: Fantasy, Werewolves
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads


four-stars

the longing.
Once Grace and Sam have found each other, they know they must fight to stay together. For Sam, this means a reckoning with his werewolf past. For Grace, it means facing a future that is less and less certain.

the loss.
Into their world comes a new wolf named Cole, whose past is full of hurt and danger. He is wrestling with his own demons, embracing the life of a wolf while denying the ties of a human.

the linger.
For Grace, Sam, and Cole, life is a constant struggle between two forces--wolf and human--with love baring its two sides as well. It is harrowing and euphoric, freeing and entrapping, enticing and alarming. As their world falls apart, love is what lingers. But will it be enough?

The Wolves of Mercy Falls series

6068551

Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1) by Maggie Stiefvater {PurchaseMy Review}

‘This is a love story. I never knew there were so many kinds of love or that love could make people do so many different things.
I never knew there were so many different ways to say goodbye.’

Grace has never been sick a day in her life since the wolves attacked her when she was a child. Lately, she’s been plagued by a constant headache and a fever that burns deep and has her fearing that this is much more than just the flu. Sam, now human despite the brutal Minnesota cold, still feels as if it’s too good to be true.

Cole is one of the new wolves that Beck turned before he changed for the last time. Cole was an interesting and multi-faceted character. An ex-rock star in his pre-wolf life that was a junkie on the road to disaster. When he was approached by Beck he agreed to the change seeking a respite from the life he had created for himself. Sam and Grace shared the stage with the introduction of the growing attraction between Isabelle and Cole. I found the two couples to be vastly different yet managed to complement each other in the story wonderfully.

Maggie’s writing remains vibrant and beautiful. There’s really no other way to explain it… simple yet not. She’s an amazing writer. I especially loved the small snippets we were given of Sam’s poetry/song writing abilities.

‘I’m an equation that only she solves/these X’s and Y’s by other names called/My way of dividing is desperately flawed/as I multiply days without her’

The ending of Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #2) left me with little doubt that I needed to start Forever immediately. I needed to know the ending to the story even though I have a distinct feeling that it’s going to break my heart. Here’s hoping I’m wrong. 🙂

Divider

Book Review – Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

February 27, 2012 Bonnie Book Reviews, Read in 2012, YA 0 Comments

Book Review – Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1) by Maggie StiefvaterShiver by Maggie Stiefvater
Series: The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1
Published by Scholastic Press on August 1, 2009
Pages: 400
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Amazon
Goodreads

Also by this author: Forever, The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves

five-stars

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can't seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It's her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

‘I didn’t think I belonged here in her world, a boy stuck between two lives, dragging the dangers of the wolves with me, but when she said my name, waiting for me to follow, I knew I’d do anything to stay with her.’

There was something incredibly beautiful about Maggie Stiefvater’s writing style… I found myself completely mesmerized. I definitely have a soft spot in my heart for beautifully written stories that fill me with a deep longing… and this one definitely did it. Sam and Grace’s passion was palpable and heartbreaking. These too definitely had a connection that lacked an easy explanation; it just was.

As this is the first time I’ve read Shiver, I’ve heard opinions about this book from every end of the spectrum. The one that stuck out the most for me was that it was ‘Twilight’ rewritten if Bella were to have went with Jacob instead of Edward. Being that I have now personally read ‘Shiver’ and can formulate my own opinion I can see some slight similarities but there was a depth to the characters and the story itself that was sorely lacking in Twilight… plus the writing itself was on a completely different level.

Incredibly enjoyable, I loved every minute of it. I can’t help but wonder though what the next installment will bring. If I didn’t know that the second (and third) book was already released I would have been completely content with how this story ended. I suppose we shall see. 🙂

‘I closed my eyes. For a brief moment I wished with all my heart that he was just a normal boy, so that I could storm away with my pride and indignation. But he wasn’t. He was as fragile as a butterfly in autumn, waiting to be destroyed by the first frost.’

Divider