Graphic Novel Review – House of Gold & Bones by Corey Taylor

December 7, 2013 Bonnie Adult, Book Reviews, Early Review, Graphic Novel, Read in 2013 2 Comments

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Graphic Novel Review – House of Gold & Bones by Corey TaylorHouse of Gold & Bones by Corey Taylor
Published by Dark Horse on December 10th 2013
Pages: 104
Genres: Fantasy, Horror
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: Seven Deadly Sins: Settling the Argument Between Born Bad and Damaged Good, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven, You're Making Me Hate You: A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense Left

three-stars

In a nightmarish world, the Human finds himself at a crossroads as wild adventure ensues and he's thrust into a morphing landscape of rolling hills, dense forest, and an ominous Crimson City. Chased by a crazed mob and mysterious characters neither friend nor foe, the Human takes an unexpected journey that will lead to his salvation... or damnation. Stone Sour/Slipknot singer Corey Taylor has written this graphic novel to accompany the narrative of Stone Sour's two House of Gold & Bones albums!

Image result for House of Gold & Bones part 1

House of Gold & Bones is the complete collection of the four-volume comics that coincided with the release of Stone Sour’s double disc release of the same name. It tells the tale of a Human that finds himself in a world of horror with no clear way out.

Being a huge fan of both of Corey Taylor’s non-fiction novels and of  Stone Sour’s House of Gold & Bones albums it was too intriguing a concept to pass up. The majority of the illustrations had a raw and unpolished feel and the story itself was a world of fantasy and horror. I loved the creativity behind this and his vision as a whole and would love to see what other concepts he comes up with. A definite for fans of Corey Taylor and Stone Sour.

Divider

2 Responses to “Graphic Novel Review – House of Gold & Bones by Corey Taylor”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge