Waiting on Wednesday – Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

July 22, 2015 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday, YA 9 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – Salt to the Sea by Ruta SepetysSalt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Published by Philomel on February 9th 2016
Pages: 400
Genres: Historical Fiction
Format: Hardcover
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 New York Times bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

This tragedy of WWII is definitely unknown to me and I anxiously await Ruta’s brilliant storytelling to bring this to life.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Leave me a link to your post and I’ll be sure to stop by!

dvd-pearl

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine

Divider

9 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday – Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys”

  1. Lisa @ Bookshelf Fantasies

    Sounds good, although I think the blurb is trying a little too hard (Dead Wake, Code Name Verity, and All the Light? Those are some big titles to live up to!) I read Out of the Easy by this author and mostly liked it. This one sounds very different. I think I’ll have to check it out!
    Lisa @ Bookshelf Fantasies recently posted…Thursday Quotables: Ross PoldarkMy Profile

    Reply

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge