Waiting on Wednesday – Scrapper by Matt Bell

August 19, 2015 Bonnie Adult, Waiting on Wednesday 3 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday – Scrapper by Matt BellScrapper by Matt Bell
Published by Soho Press on September 15th 2015
Pages: 320
Genres: Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic
Format: Hardcover
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

For fans of The Dog Stars and Station Eleven, Scrapper traces one man’s desperate quest for redemption in a devastated Detroit.

“Has the feel of Cormac McCarthy’s The Road set in present-day Motor City…powerful.”
Publishers Weekly

Detroit has descended into ruin. Kelly scavenges for scrap metal from the hundred thousand abandoned buildings in a part of the city known as “the zone,” an increasingly wild landscape where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he’s come to steal: a kidnapped boy, crying out for rescue. Briefly celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly avenges the boy’s unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past and long-buried traumas.

The second novel from the acclaimed author of In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods,Scrapper is a devastating reimagining of one of America’s greatest cities, its beautiful architecture, its lost houses, shuttered factories, boxing gyms, and storefront churches. With precise, powerful prose, it asks: What do we owe for our crimes, even those we’ve committed to protect the people we love?

About Matt Bell

Matt Bell is the author of the novel IN THE HOUSE UPON THE DIRT BETWEEN THE LAKE AND THE WOODS, a finalist for the Young Lions Fiction Award, a Michigan Notable Book, and an Indies Choice Adult Debut Book of the Year Honor Recipient, and the winner of the Paula Anderson Book Award. He is also the author of two previous books, HOW THEY WERE FOUND and CATACLYSM BABY, and his next novel, SCRAPPER, will be published in Fall 2015. His stories have appeared in Best American Mystery Stories, Best American Fantasy, Conjunctions, Gulf Coast, The American Reader, and many other publications. He teaches creative writing at Arizona State University.

In the House Upon the Dirt Between the Lake and the Woods was one (of many) highly acclaimed novels from 2013 that I never got around to. Scrapper seems much more up my alley anyways. Has the feel of Cormac McCarthy’s The Road? One of my favorites. Big shoes to fill, but I eagerly await this one to see if it holds true.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Leave me a link to your post and I’ll be sure to stop by!

dvd-pearl

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine

Divider

3 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday – Scrapper by Matt Bell”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge