Waiting on Wednesday – The Adventurist: A Novel by J. Bradford Hipps

February 17, 2016 Bonnie Waiting on Wednesday 1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday – The Adventurist: A Novel by J. Bradford HippsThe Adventurist: A Novel by J. Bradford Hipps
Published by St. Martin's Press on April 26th 2016
Pages: 288
Genres: Contemporary
Format: Hardcover
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Goodreads

At a software company in a Southern city, one lovesick, whip-smart software engineer has a crisis of confidence, in the tradition of Richard Ford and Walker Percy.

In the anonymous office park of a modern software company, whip-smart software engineer Henry Hurt is a man in the middle: of life, of career, of self-assessment. Mired in his corporate responsibilities, Henry's deathless office existence is torpedoed by losing his mother.

Overcome by "the pall," Henry seeks escape in a quest for love and purpose occasioned by a crisis in his company's fortunes. Dodging an Iago-like rival, he finds love with a colleague in his department, endangers his bond with his family, and finally confronts the single urgent question of his life.

The Adventurist is about relationships: Henry has complicated ones with his sister, Gretchen, who has stayed at home with their father; his lover Jane, a sleek and efficient mirror image of Henry; and a tantalizing potential girlfriend, Karen, the ultimate free spirit. But his relationship to his corporate and familial responsibilities may change his fortunes even more than the women in his life.

About J. Bradford Hipps

A former programmer, J. Bradford Hipps turned to fiction after a ten-year software career. He received his graduate degree from the University of Houston Creative Writing Program, where he was awarded the Inprint Michener Prize. He lives with his wife and children in Texas.

There’s something about this one that sounds incredible fun. Almost like a mix of Office Space and Attachments, no? Highly anticipating this debut.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

border24

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine

Divider

One Response to “Waiting on Wednesday – The Adventurist: A Novel by J. Bradford Hipps”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge